Research Guides: Historic Knight Library: Art & Architecture: Resources

HISTORIC FLOOR PLANS (1935)

WPA Mural, Post Office
Eugene, Oregon.
Artist: Carl Morris.
Source: Oregon Digital

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

This guide was created by Edward H. Teague. Its goal is to provide foundational information for the understanding of the historic art of Knight Library. Assistance from the staff of the Special Collections and University Archives department of the UO Libraries is especially appreciated in the development of the guide. The creation of the guide is included in the scope of the UO Libraries' Knight Library Public Art Task Force. The 2017 membership of the task force was Edward H. Teague (chair), David de Lorenzo, Sara DeWaay, Barbara Jenkins, Azle Malinao-Alarez, Terry P. McQuilkin, and David R. Woken. The 2018 membership consisted of Sara DeWaay, Amanda Garcia, Danielle Knapp, Hana Chan, Doug Blandy, Jennifer O'Neill, Abha Joshi, Rafael Lopez, Francesca Smith, and Edward H. Teague (chair).

RESOURCES

Selected sources for the study of Depression Era art and architecture in Oregon are listed below. Consult individual pages for sources about the creators and their works for the 1937 University of Oregon Library.

THE NEW DEAL AND ART

Braeman, John, Bremner, Robert H., and Brody, David. The New Deal. Modern America (Columbus, Ohio) ; 4. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1975.

Grieve, Victoria. The Federal Art Project and the Creation of Middlebrow Culture. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2009.

Living New Deal, https://livingnewdeal.org/

Melosh, Barbara. Engendering Culture : Manhood and Womanhood in New Deal Public Art and Theater. New Directions in American Art. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1991.

New Deal Artwork: GSA's Inventory Project. Government Services Administration, https://www.gsa.gov/portal/content/101384

United States. Department of the Treasury. Public Works of Art Project. Report of the Assistant Secretary of the Treasury to Federal Emergency Relief Administrator, December 8, 1933-June 30, 1934. Washington: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1934.

WPA murals, wpamurals.com

NEW DEAL ART AND OREGON

Butcher, Karyle S. "The Works Progress Administration in Oregon: An Administrative Overview. Thesis, M. A. Interdisciplinary Studies. Oregon State University, 1990. ScholarsArchive@OSU, https://ir.library.oregonstate.edu/xmlui/handle/1957/38034

Horowitz, David A. "The New Deal and People's Art: Market Planners and Radical Artists." Oregon Historical Quarterly 109, no. 2 (2008): 318-28. http://www.jstor.org/stable/20615855.

Howe, Carolyn. The Production of Culture on the Oregon Federal Arts Project of the Works Progress Administration. M. A. Thesis. Portland State University, 1980. PDXScholar, http://archives.pdx.edu/ds/psu/4356

Oregon Historic Sites Database, http://heritagedata.prd.state.or.us/historic/. Over 40,000 Oregon sites are documented in this database from the Oregon State Preservation Office.

Oregon Digital, oregondigital.org. A digital collaboration between UO and OSU, Oregon Digital's content includes thousands of images. Among Oregon Digital's collections is Building Oregon which includes 25,000 images and documents about Oregon's built environment.

Peterson, Mark Frederic. Burt Barker, His Role in Historic Preservation in Oregon. Thesis, Portland State University, 1982. http://pdxscholar.library.pdx.edu/open_access_etds/3416/

Sheldon, Henry Davidson. History of University of Oregon. Portland, Or.: Binfords & Mort, 1940.

Shellenbarger, Michael., Lakin, Kimberly K., and Roth, Leland M. Harmony in Diversity : The Architecture and Teaching of Ellis F. Lawrence. Eugene, Or.: Museum of Art and the Historic Preservation Program, School of Architecture and Allied Arts, University of Oregon, 1989. Scholars Bank, http://hdl.handle.net/1794/12298

Scholars' Bank, scholarsbank.uoregon.edu. The UO yearbook, Oregana, and other historical publications can be found in Scholars' Bank, the repository for the intellectual work of UO's faculty, students, and staff. It also houses materials from certain partner institution collections. Open access journals, student projects, theses, dissertations, pre- and post-print articles, instructional resources, and university archival material are all candidates for deposit.

University of Oregon. School of Architecture Allied Arts. Alumni Directory : 1914-1989. Eugene, Or.: Produced for University of Oregon, School of Architecture and Allied Arts by Pub. Concepts, 1990.

ARCHIVES

For online finding aids of University of Oregon collections, visit Archives West, http://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/.

Burt Brown Barker papers, 1935-1938. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution. [Note: Exceptional resource. Barker was the Oregon Fine Arts Project director.] https://www.aaa.si.edu/collections/burt-brown-barker-papers-5856

Ellis Fuller Lawrence papers, Ax 056, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Frederick A. Cuthbert faculty papers, UA 227, Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Oregon FAP records, 1936-1939. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, https://www.aaa.si.edu/collections/

Orion B. Dawson Papers, Coll 463, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon.

School of Architecture and Allied Arts (AAA) records, UA 033, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

School of Architecture and Allied Arts scrapbooks, UA 077, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

University Archives photographs, 1890s-2010s, Architecture and Allied Arts, Classroom Scenes

Work Projects Administration Oregon Federal Art Project records, Coll 238, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon. [Note: Primarily Timberline Lodge material.]

FLOOR PLANS & ART GUIDE

Historic Knight Library Art Guide Provides floor plans with locations of art described in this guide. Some locations are not publicly accessible at all times. Check library hours.

Exterior carving, Timberline Lodge, Mt. Hood. Source: Michael Shellebarger, Oregon Digital.

RESEARCH GUIDES

Research Guides created by University of Oregon subject librarians provide key resources for research in numerous disciplines.

UO's ARCHITECTURE

For more information about UO's built environment including buildings and outdoor sculpture created during the Depression Era, consult The Architecture of the University of Oregon: A History, Bibliography, and Research Guide.