Research Guides: WR 123: Written Reasoning in the Context of Research: Theme: Culture of Science

Tips for using this page

Tips:

Use Step 3: Find Materials to learn how to use these resources
Check out the other pages of this guide like Find Scholarly Articles to find other resources to search
Contact a librarian for help. We're available 24x7 via online chat!

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Database Resources for Background & Topic Development

Search for your topic in these databases to learn about the conversation or debates surrounding the topic and to learn about multiple perspectives and sources for more information.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
Gale in context. Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues. Provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, interactive maps, infographics, & more.

News Sources

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources

General Sciences

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
- This link opens in a new window

Social Sciences

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window Covers the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Specific Science Disciplines

Below are a few of our database subscriptions. Check the research guides or the databases A-Z list by subject for others.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Articles and conference proceedings in Computer Science.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering the geosciences: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
Indexes journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Index articles and book reviews in the fields of mathematics and statistics.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Searches PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTESTS simultaneously.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine
SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. First time using SciFnder requires you to make an account.

Staying Current in Your Field - Science (Infographic)

Scientists and science professionals have to stay up-to-date with the literature that gets published in their field. Sharing information through publishing is central to a scientist's work.

"[T]he credit for a scientific discovery is awarded not to the scientist who discovers a phenomenon but to the scientist who publishes its discovery first" (Writing in the Sciences: Exploring Conventions of Scientific Discourse, Penrose and Katz, 10).

This suggests that you should use all the tools available to stay on top of new information. Below are some of the main ways scientists stay current.

(Click to Enlarge Image)

Long description of "How Scientists Stay Current" infographic for web accessibility

For more information, check out these resources:

WR 123: Written Reasoning in the Context of Research

Need Help?

BrowZine Search

Google Scholar Search Widget

Science Research Guides from UO Libraries