Research Guides: Earth & ​Geological Sciences: Start Here

Citation Management Tools

Citation managers help you collect, organize, cite, and share research. Click on the links below for guidance on using these tools.

Zotero Guide
Free and open tool.
Mendeley Guide
Free tool. Researchers can pay for additional storage.
Endnote Guide
Online version is free. Paid desktop app is available.

Learning Opportunities

For help learning these tools, contact an expert listed on the tool's guide or sign up for one of our workshops:

How to Use This Guide

This guide covers several broad areas of Geology and it broken up into sections based on resource type: Database, Reference, Books, Articles, and Websites. There is also a section for feedback.

Databases - Best Bets

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering the geosciences: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
Indexes journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.

eBooks

Springer Earth & Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and eBook collections in Biology, Chemistry, Geology, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, and Physics from 2006 forwards.
Uncheck the Preview checkbox within SpringerLink to see full text licensed by the UO Libraries.

Oregon Geology by Elizabeth L. Orr; William N. Orr
ISBN: 0870716816
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Because Oregon sits on the leading edge of a moving crustal plate, a striking diversity of geologic events have molded its topography. Over a century of study, a deeper understanding of the region's tectonic overprint has emerged. In this timely update to the 2000 edition, Elizabeth and William Orr incorporate that new knowledge, addressing current environmental problems and detailing tectonic hazards. "Caught between converging crustal plates," the Orrs write, "the Pacific Northwest faces a future of massive earthquakes and tsunamis." A comprehensive treatment of the state's geologic history, Oregon Geology moves through Oregon's regions to closely examine the unique geologic features of each, from the Blue Mountains to the Willamette Valley, from the high lava Plains to the Coast Range. The book includes biographical sketches of notable geologists. It is lavishly illustrated and includes an extensive bibliography.