Citation chaining (or chasing) is the name for a process in which you use an information source to find other work that is cited within the first source (backwards chaining) or cites to the first source (forward chaining).
Below is a YouTube video on how citation chaining works in Google Scholar. Keep in mind that you should not have to pay for an article while you are a UO student. Contact your Subject Librarian for help locating materials. In this video, look for a "fluff word" that the researcher uses when searching.
When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.
(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar).
To configure your Google Scholar Library Links, click on Settings. in the upper right of the search page.
Then select Library Links and search for "University of Oregon." Check the box in the search select and click "Save."
LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.
Watch this video from
Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but locate scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other academic sources. Some databases contain unique materials such as dissertations, primary sources, images, music, videos, and government documents. Here are two places to find one that fits your needs:
icon in the database to connect to the complete article.
This link opens in a new windowSubject or Discipline-Specific Databases:
Not sure where to start? Try using one of these...
If you are using a database that does not have this filter option, or if you find an article citation somewhere else, you can check if the article was published in a "peer-reviewed" journal or magazine by using Ulrichsweb.
Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.
You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.
This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.
If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button 
to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.
When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).
Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.
Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.
Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.
Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
