Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Start Here

Citation Management Tools

Citation managers help you collect, organize, cite, and share research. Click on the links below for guidance on using these tools.

Zotero Guide
Free and open tool.
Mendeley Guide
Free tool. Researchers can pay for additional storage.
Endnote Guide
Online version is free. Paid desktop app is available.

Learning Opportunities

For help learning these tools, contact an expert listed on the tool's guide or sign up for one of our workshops:

How to Use This Guide

This guide covers several broad areas of Environmental Studies and it broken up into sections based on resource type: Database, Reference, Books, Articles, and Websites. There is also a section for feedback.

Databases - Best Bets

Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
BioOne complete This link opens in a new window
Collection of high-impact bioscience research journals. The UO has full text
access to the journal titles that were formerly a part of the BioOne 1 collection.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.

International business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1979 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices, as well as current data and market indexes.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs.
Topics covered include government, international relations, environment, political science, public administration and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

eBooks

Biomedical & life sciences (Springer eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window
Ebook package providing access to books, book chapters, conference papers and proceedings, and reference works in the disciplines of Biomedical and Life Sciences.
Uncheck the Preview checkbox within SpringerLink to see full text licensed by the UO Libraries.
e-book Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.

Need Help?

Librarian

Dean Walton

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Environmental Studies, Geography, Geological Sciences, Marine Biology, Medicine/Health, Molecular Biology, Sciences

Plagiarism

Citing References & Avoiding Plagiarism Guide
Guide to Citations and Plagiarism