Research Guides: Chemistry: 1. Finding articles

Finding articles

Note: In most of these databases, click on the FindText button to see if the article is available online or in print via the UO Libraries, and if not, you can request it from another library via I nterlibrary Loan. Step by step directions coming.

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. First time using SciFnder requires you to make an account.

First time using Scifinder requires you to make an account.

For more Scifinder information: see the SciFinder support and training pages

Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
Chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
IEEE publications, including transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering, computer science, physics, bioengineering, aerospace, and related fields.
Natural Product Updates This link opens in a new window
A literature updating service keeping you current with recent developments in natural products chemistry. Covering a wide range of primary sources, Natural Product Updates includes the most important natural product articles published in the recent scientific literature, which are searchable by topic, natural source, biological activity and structure typ
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine

If you are looking for something specific (a reference)

Get an article or book (even if it is behind a paywall)
Get a .pdf of any article delivered directly to your email inbox.
Chemistry Reference Resolver
Quickly gets you to the publisher's webpage that may contain the article you are looking for.
more...less...
How it works:
You type-in the reference
Punctuation and case is generally ignored
The site will try to take you to the article.
Vaguely defined "lazy citations", such as "perkin1 2002 2733" will work.
Several browser extensions are available.
UnPayWall
Link system to legally published research papers. Supported by grants from the National Science Foundation and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
kopernio
On-campus access: Kopernio automatically detects your library subscriptions when you are on campus based on your IP address. You don't need to do anything.
Off-campus access: If your library supports off-campus access to subscriptions via a proxy, Kopernio can connect to this. You'll need to log in to your library the first time you use Kopernio off-campus.
FindText
Use this icon to get to our holdings.
Off Campus Access
Installing this software will allow you to access Library resources from off-campus with fewer login issues.
CASSI Journal Abbreviations
If you have to translate a mysterious abbreviation for a journal title, look it up in the CAS Source Index.

Chemistry

Science Library Help

The Kenneth M. and Kenda H. Singer Science Librarian

Finding articles

If you are looking for something specific (a reference)