LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.
If you're unsure where to start, hover over the (i) to learn more information about each database. If you're still not sure, contact a librarian for help!
This link opens in a new windowHere is a brief selection of the many reference sources available in the library. For information about each title, hover your mouse over the (i) for more information. See also: Step 2: Find Background Information for other general reference resources and guidance.
Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia by
The Archaeology of Food offers more than 250 entries spanning geographic and temporal contexts and features recent discoveries alongside the results of decades of research. The contributors provide overviews of current knowledge and theoretical perspectives, raise key questions, and delve into myriad scientific, archaeological, and material analyses to add depth to our understanding of food.
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by
In 2009, First Lady Michelle Obama established an organic vegetable garden at the White House, reflecting the impact and popularity of the "green" food movement at even the highest levels. Her action is no surprise. Global sales of organic products topped $23 billion in 2008 and have been growing 20 to 25 percent annually for the past decade.
Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking by
Revealing the techniques used for preparing food which ranges from the otherworldly to the sublime, 'Modern Cuisine' is a six-volume guide for anyone who is passionate about the art and science of cooking.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by
From babka to baklava to the groundnut stew of Ghana, food culture can tell us where we've been;and maybe even where we're going. Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples.
The Cambridge World History of Food by
Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues.
We have access to many additional encyclopedias both online and in print, so be sure to also search the library catalog for additional resources. The above are just a few options with very broad coverage by topic - but we also have more focused options such as encyclopedias of specific groups of people in the United States and beyond, the literature of specific groups of people, of LGBTQUIA2S+ topics, and more.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485