The Politics of Sports by Anna Carroll; Eleanor WakefieldThis Open Educational Resource is a collection of texts and materials that team together students’ familiarity with sports and critical inquiry skills. The Politics of Sports has the potential to capture the interest of college students in order to excite them to begin a research journey with a sense of authority and investment in a topic that is at once familiar and complex enough to yield a wide range of inquiry.
Call Number: eBook [OER]
Publication Date: 2020 (2nd Edition)
Recommended Databases for Sports Topics
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowIndexes sports and physical education journals.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowMagazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Social Science Premium CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Sports is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on sports sciences and public health. Locate articles here relating to sports and sociology, psychology, nutrition, injuries, anatomy, medicine and more. (Open Access, freely available without subscription).
The Journal of Sports Media is a scholarly, peer reviewed journal that publishes articles, book reviews, and essays on the influence of sports media on culture. This includes how media covers sports, branding, athletes use of social media, and related topics.
The Journal of Sport & Social Issues is a scholarly, peer reviewed journal publishing research, analysis and discussions on topics relating to sports and social issues like race, media, gender, economics, drugs, recruiting, injuries, and youth.
The Nation provides news, political and social commentary and opinion articles on social issues, economics, politics, arts and more. Articles on social issues and sports can be found within this magazine.
ESPN.com provides coverage, news, events, and commentary on amateur, professional and Olympic sports. The University Libraries currently does not have an ESPN magazine subscription, please use Interlibrary Loan to request articles.
The Sports Illustrated website provides news, commentary, podcasts, analysis,and events on a range of sports and professional leagues. Access to Sports Illustrated magazine is limited, please use the University Libraries subscription to read articles.
The Nation provides news, political and social commentary and opinion articles on social issues, economics, politics, arts and more. Some articles are limited to subscription, please access the magazine through the Libraries to read these articles.
FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis to provide analysis on politics, economics, sports and economics. Looking at the sports page for most relevant articles.
Dictionaries and Encylcopedia
A Supplementary Dictionary of Sports Personalities by Stuart GeorgeThis new Supplementary Dictionary of Sports Personalities contains biographical information on famous individuals from the world of sports. Spanning a wide range of sporting disciplines, including cricket, football, javelin, boxing, and bullfighting, this A–Z provides all the information you need on notable sportsmen and women such as Blanche Bingley, Brian Howard Clough, Mervyn Davies, José Gómez Ortega, Flo Hymann, Andy Irons, Jean Réné Lacoste, Sócrates, and many more.
For this online Supplementary Dictionary, 200 entries were taken from the Oxford Companion to Sports and Games (published 1975), edited by the late John Arlott. These entries were revised and updated by Stuart George, who also wrote over 60 new entries for this A-Z. The Dictionary only includes biographies of deceased sports personalities and supplements the biographical coverage in the existing sports-related content on Oxford Reference.
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Lyle J. MicheliProfessional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of ′weekend warriors′ who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
Publication Date: 2010
Women in Sport by Barbara L. Drinkwater (Editor)The participation of women in sports, whether it be professional or amateur, has increased dramatically over the past 20 years. The anatomy and physiology of the female athlete is unique and it is these aspects which are covered in this new volume in the Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine. Women in Sport provides and invaluable reference for those who deal with sportswomen of all abilities, both on a clinical and research level.
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by Mark Dodds (Editor); Linda E. Swayne (Editor)There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.
Publication Date: 2011
The Young Athlete by Helge Hebestreit (Editor); Oded Bar-Or (Editor)∗ An essential text that defines the medical and scientific aspects of the child and adolescent athlete ∗ Meets the need for a responsible approach to the developing athlete ∗ Covers key concepts in six sections: Growth, Maturation, and Physical Performance; Conditioning; Injuries; Non-orthopaedic Health Concerns; Psychosocial Issues; Disease and the Young Athlete
Publication Date: 2007
Sports Injury Prevention by Roald Bahr; Lars Engebretsen (Editor)This volume in the Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science series is a practical guide on the prevention of sports injuries. It covers all Olympic sports, plus additional sport activities with international competition, such as rugby. Focusing on reducing the potential for injuries, the book is organised by regions of the body. There are also chapters on the importance of injury prevention and developing an injury prevention program within a team. The authors identify the risk factors for specific injuries in each sport, typical injury mechanisms and risks associated with training.
Publication Date: 2009
The Sport Psychologist's Handbook by Joaquin DosilA practical handbook for sports psychologists that outlines the most effective interventions for athletes across a variety of sports. A practical manual for the growing force of sports psychologists helping today's athletes to unprecedented levels of application and success Offers specific guidance on the psychological assessment of athletes, uniquely presented in an accessible sport-by-sport format Written by an experienced practicing sports psychologist and author, who draws on his own methods and experience in the field
Publication Date: 2006
Sport Psychology by Britton W. Brewer (Editor)This volume in the Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science series presents a concise summary of the science and practice of psychology in the context of sport. Psychological aspects central to sport performance such as motivation, cognition, stress, confidence, and mental preparation are examined and interventions designed to enhance individual and team performance are reviewed. Reflecting the breadth of the field, issues such as sport injury prevention and rehabilitation, athlete psychopathology, child and adolescent development, sport career termination, and the practice of sport psychology are also addressed. Published under the auspices of the Medical Commission of the International Olympic Committee, Sport Psychology shows howthe performance and the overall well-being of athletes can be improved by highlighting research findings and their practical application. With contributions from internationally renowned experts and useful case studies in each chapter, this handbook is an essential resource for medical doctors who serve athletes and sports teams and an invaluable reference for all students of sport psychology.
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by Michael KentThe Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine provides comprehensive and authoritative definitions of nearly 8000 sports science and sports medicine terms. All major areas are covered, including exercise psychology, sports nutrition, biomechanics, anatomy, sports sociology, trainingprinciples and techniques and sports injury and rehabilitation The dictionary will be an invaluable aid to students, coaches, athletes and anyone wanting instant access to the scientific principles, anatomical structures, and physiological, sociological and psychological processes that affect sporting performance. It will also be of interest to the generalreader interested in sports science and medicine terminology.
Publication Date: 2007
A Dictionary of Sports Studies by Alan TomlinsonThis is the brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies. It contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries compiled by Professor Alan Tomlinson, a leading expert in the field. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well asentries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sportspeople, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices with lists of sporting events andwinners, including the Summer and Winter Olympic Games. In addition, there are recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Sports Studies companion website. Addressing the need for an A-Z reference guide in the field of sports studies, this dictionary is essential reading for students of sports studies and the related disciplines of leisure and recreation studies, sports science, and physical education. It is also ideal for the general reader with aninterest in sport.