Research Guides: Library Workshop Descriptions: SQL

Introduction to SQL

Click on the tabs above to find out more about the four workshops in the Introduction to SQL workshop sequence.

1. Selecting and Filtering Data

2. Ordering, Summarizing, and Calculating Data

3. Joining Data from Multiple Tables

4. Database Design and Best Practices

You can attend any workshop in the series without attending all of them; however, if you skip ahead in the series we recommend reviewing the pre-requisites (listed under each tab) to make sure you are prepared. If you would like to schedule a version of this sequence for your lab, student group, or as part of a class, reach out to us at DataServices@uoregon.edu.

If no upcoming events are listed for this class sequence below, you can search for related classes on our workshop schedule page.

Introduction to SQL 1: Selecting and Formatting Data

Software:	You will need to install DB Browser for SQLite and download the doaj-article-sample database. See Setup for instructions and further information.
Duration:	60 min
Room description:	Varies.
Prerequisites:	No previous coding experience is required. Some familiarity with using data in spreadsheet programs (Excel, Google Sheets) or statistical programs (R, SPSS) may be helpful.
Skills Taught / Learning Outcomes:	Define a relational database. Explain what SQL is and why to use it. Understand how SQL can be used to query databases. Understand how to build queries, using SQL keywords such as `DISTINCT` and `ORDER BY` Write queries that `SELECT` data based on conditions. Understand how to use the `WHERE` clause in a statement. Learn how to use comparison keywords such as `LIKE` in a statement.
Class Materials:	This workshop is based on the first three lessons in this Library Carpentry SQL course. Follow the link to read through the materials and exercises we will cover.
Related Classes:
Additional Training Materials:	This Software Carpentry SQL class covers some of the same material at a more advanced level. Kahn Academy and W3Schools offer additional introductory training with interactive coding challenges.
Accessibility:	We believe that DB Browser for SQLite is accessible to screen readers, but have been able to find very little documentation regarding this. Please reach out to us if you are having trouble with DB Browser and would like to take a version of this class using SQLite3 from the command line. Tdsr is one popular command line screen reader.

Introduction to SQL 2: Ordering, Summarizing, and Calculating Data

Software:	You will need to install DB Browser for SQLite and download the doaj-article-sample database. See Setup for instructions and further information.
Duration:	60 min
Room description:	Varies.
Prerequisites:	If you did not attend the first workshop in the sequence, you can hop in if you have basic familiarity with SQL SELECT statements and database concepts. We recommend that you also review the course materials from SQL 1.
Skills Taught / Learning Outcomes:	Review filtering in SQL Use SQL functions like `AVG` in combination with clauses like `GROUP BY` to aggregate values and return results for reports. Make calculations on fields using SQL. Understand how to build queries, and the order in which to build the parts.
Class Materials:	This workshop is based on the third, fourth, and fifth lessons in this Library Carpentry SQL course. Follow the link to read through the materials and exercises we will cover.
Related Classes:
Additional Training Materials:	This Software Carpentry SQL class covers some of the same material at a more advanced level. Kahn Academy and W3Schools offer additional introductory training with interactive coding challenges.
Accessibility:	We believe that DB Browser for SQLite is accessible to screen readers, but have been able to find very little documentation regarding this. Please reach out to us if you are having trouble with DB Browser and would like to take a version of this class using SQLite3 from the command line. Tdsr is one popular command line screen reader.

Introduction to SQL 3: Joining Data from Multiple Tables

Software:	You will need to install DB Browser for SQLite and download the doaj-article-sample database. See Setup for instructions and further information.
Duration:	60 min
Room description:	Varies.
Prerequisites:	If you did not attend the first and second classes in the sequence, you can still attend the class if you have learned the material covered in those classes, including SQL SELECT statements, filtering, and database concepts. We recommend that you review the course materials from the first sessions so that you are familiar with the terminology used in this workshop sequence.
Skills Taught / Learning Outcomes:	Understand the different types of SQL joins and how to use them.
Class Materials:	This workshop is based on the sixth lesson in this Library Carpentry SQL course. Follow the link to read through the materials and exercises we will cover.
Related Classes:
Additional Training Materials:	This graphic explains SQL joins in a clear, intuitive way. This Software Carpentry SQL class covers some of the same material at a more advanced level. Kahn Academy and W3Schools offer additional introductory training with interactive coding challenges.
Accessibility:	We believe that DB Browser for SQLite is accessible to screen readers, but have been able to find very little documentation regarding this. Please reach out to us if you are having trouble with DB Browser and would like to take a version of this class using SQLite3 from the command line. Tdsr is one popular command line screen reader.

Introduction to SQL 4: Database Design and Best Practices

Software:	You will need to install DB Browser for SQLite and download the doaj-article-sample database. See Setup for instructions and further information.
Duration:	60 min
Room description:	Varies.
Prerequisites:	If you did not attend the first three classes in the sequence, you can still attend the class if you have learned the material covered in those classes. If you have studied SQL elsewhere, we still recommend that you review the course materials from the first sessions so that you are familiar with the terminology used in this workshop sequence.
Skills Taught / Learning Outcomes:	Review joins in SQL Discuss database design and best practices
Class Materials:	This workshop is based on the final lessons in this Library Carpentry SQL course. Follow the link to read through the materials and exercises we will cover.
Related Classes:
Additional Training Materials:	This Software Carpentry SQL class covers some of the same material at a more advanced level. Kahn Academy and W3Schools offer additional introductory training with interactive coding challenges.
Accessibility:	We believe that DB Browser for SQLite is accessible to screen readers, but have been able to find very little documentation regarding this. Please reach out to us if you are having trouble with DB Browser and would like to take a version of this class using SQLite3 from the command line. Tdsr is one popular command line screen reader.