Photographs in Special Collections & University Archives

Permissions

The University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) offers scholars, researchers, students, and the general public the opportunity to purchase high-resolution digital copies of materials from its collections. Requests must be secured via our online form for any kind of publication, distribution, or reproduction.  Turn-around time is approximately six weeks from date of payment, and all orders will be pre-billed.  You may also opt for a rush order, which can be turned around within one business week, for a 50% surcharge. 

Copyright Information
The University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections and University Archives, is the owner of the photographs it offers for purchase and use. However, in many instances, the Library does not necessarily own copyright, which may be owned by a separate individual, artist, artist’s estate, or other person or entity. The Library endeavors to provide information that it possesses about the copyright status for such works; however, the Library offers no guarantee that all pertinent information is provided or that the information is correct in each circumstance.

Therefore, it is the sole responsibility of the person seeking permission from the Libraries to determine whether any additional permission, such as copyright clearance, is necessary and, if so, for obtaining the required permission and related written documentation.

Rates and Fees

Fee information is available here: http://library.uoregon.edu/special-collections/rates.