Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Photographs in Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections contains approximately half a million photographic images in its collections. Most photograph collections are not listed in the UO Libraries' online catalog, and many relate to manuscript collections.

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Related Guides

About SCUA Photograph Collections

Special Collections contains approximately half a million photographic images in its collections. Particular subject strengths include the history of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest, including the history of timber and agriculture in the region, as well as photographic documentation of various sub-cultures and groups unique to Oregon, ranging from lesbian artist communities to the Rajneeshpuram community in Wasco County. Holdings also include important collections by significant documentary photographers and artists, among them the Doris Ulmann, Tee Corinne, John Bauguess, and Shawn Records. Please contact us if you are looking for a particular image.  

See the full list of photography collections in Special Collections.  A subset of our collections are also available digitally on Oregon Digital.  Please note, many photography collections are currently unprocessed and unavailable for immediate use.  We are working through the backlog of unprocessed materials.  If you are interested in an unprocessed collection, please fill out this form and we will review it for our processing queue.  We do not allow access to our glass-plate negative collections due to the handling issues of the fragile material. 

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Curator of Visual Materials

Danielle Mericle's picture
Danielle Mericle
Contact:
1299 University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, OR 97403-1299
541-346-1949

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift