John Bauguess studied journalism and creative writing at the University of Oregon, and photography at the San Francisco Art Institute. Working as a photographer since 1967, Bauguesss images have appeared in numerous newspapers, periodicals, and books published in the US and abroad, including Barry Lopez's Of Wolves and Men (1978). His work has been exhibited across Oregon and Washington, in New York, and is part of the collections of the Oregon State Capitol, and the Oregon Liquor and Control Commission. John Bauguess is a Lane County resident.
The collection includes darkroom and digital prints documenting urban renewal in Eugene, Oregon in the 1970s.
On-line access: Additional John Bauguess images are available in our Digital Collections.
Image shown: Mrs. Pope tends to the donut machine in the window of Pope's Donuts, a popular downtown Eugene hangout that was razed during urban renewal in the 1970s. John Bauguess collection, PH330_029, Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403-1299.
Collection number: PH338
Extent: 1.5 linear ft. (1 container)
Preferred citation: [Identification of item], John Bauguess photographs, PH338_[item number], Special Collections and University Archives, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403-1299.
Migrant Oregon is a digital collection of Bauguess images taken in migrant work camps in the Willamette Valley. In company with members of Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (PCUN, or Northwest Treeplanters and Farmworker's United) the photographer visited camps in the Salem, Mount Angel, Silverton and Woodburn areas. "With assistance from union organizers Ramon Ramirez (currently president of the union) and Leoni Bicchierri, we talked with workers and photographed them living in abandoned automobiles and crowded shacks, motels, and trash-filled camps, their sweltering barracks cramped with bunks cushioned with thin rug pads to support backs in need of rest. In old abandoned cars, long overdue for the scrap yard, workers stretched out in the tattered, moldy seats for which they paid rent to the camp 'motel' owner."
Image shown: Van used as shelter at car camp near Woodburn, Oregon. Decaying flowers and a poster of paradise adorn the walls. © 1988 John Bauguess
On the Web:
Publication rights: Property rights reside with Special Collections and University Archives. Copyright resides with the creators of the documents or their heirs. All requests for permission to publish images must be submitted to the Photographs Curator of Special Collections and University Archives. The reader must also obtain permission of the copyright holder.
Access restrictions: None.
Provenance: Gift of John Bauguess, 2008
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485