journal articles - book chapters - books - artistic performances - presentations - protocols - conference papers - datasets - conference posters - digital humanities projects - encyclopedia entries - lectures - research tools - visualizations - websites speeches - supervised student projects - grants
There are five ways to add a work to your ORCID profile and only one requires you to enter anything manually. Let's look at the non-manual ways to add works.
Next to the "Works" header, click "+ Add" and select "Search & link"
I wanted to link my Scopus profile to my ORCID, so I select "Scopus - Elsevier" from the list of databases by clicking on its name in bold blue in the box that pops up.
If this is the first time you are logging in to Scopus - Elsevier, you will be asked to authorize access in a screen that looks much like this:
Each database will work somewhat differently to facilitate searching, linking, and connecting your works to your ORCID profile. Scopus identifies the profiles it thinks belongs to you:
has you identify which name you want to associate with your profile:
review the publications it has associated with your profile and perform additional searches to add more publications:
and sends your Scopus ID and publications to ORCID:
When I go back to my ORCID profile, you see that I have a new work listed, along with the source of that work:
This work did not have a DOI issued, so it was not discoverable via many of the other databases available through ORCID, like CrossRef, nor through the DOI entry option.
Almost every recently published journal article and dataset - and many books and book chapters - have been issued a DOI or digital object identifier. A DOI is the equivalent of an ORCID for a digital object and they are minted by one of several organizations dedicated to this task, such as CrossRef or DataCite. You will notice that they are included in the databases that can be searched to add links to your ORCID profile. To add a work via DOI, click "+ Add" next to the "Works" header and select "Add DOI."
A variety of data about this work will be filled out in the screen that follows and you will have an opportunity to edit it, including its visibility on your profile.
If your work is published in the life sciences or biomedical field, it is likely indexed by PubMed, which has more than 37 million citations and high-quality publication metadata. Everything indexed by PubMed received a PubMed reference number or PMID, a unique identifier given to every record in the PubMed database. This is distinct from a PMCID, a PubMed Central Identifier, which is a number given to papers in the full-text PubMed Central database. To add a work using the PubMed lookup, enter either the full URL or the 1-8 digit ID:
Navigate to your Google Scholar profile and select the publications you would like to add to your ORCID profile using the checkboxes at the left-hand side of each title.
Then, click "Export," and select "BibTeX."
A page of text will open. Give it a memorable file name and assign it the file type .bib.
On your ORCID profile, click "+ Add" next to the "Works" header and select "Add BibTex," then choose your .bib file from where you saved it.
The metadata for any item in the Libraries' catalogue can be individually downloaded in the BibTeX format or added to a list and downloaded as a batch in the same format. Navigate to your item, look for the "Export BibTex" icon, and select it.
The system will prepare a .bib file, which you can add to your ORCID profile using the "+ Add" next to the "Works" header" by selecting "Add BibTeX"
Similarly, you can export any selection of items or any saved list of items using the same functionality. Look for the "..." action button in the catalog, which often indicates the ability to export records in a variety of formats.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
