Middle East and North African Studies

Regularly updated blog site collecting open access materials and resources relating to Middle East and Islamic Studies research.

"The Egypt Politics and Revolution collection provides access to web content related to the contemporary Egyptian political scene, documenting political developments and ideologies, leading players, and various forms of expression. A major focus (and the inception point for the collection) is the January 25, 2011 revolution and its aftermath, from the time of the initial 18 Days of demonstrations at Cairo’s Tahrir Square to subsequent periods of protest and successive changes in government and presidential leadership, through 2013 and 2014. (Web archiving during those periods was an initiative of AUC’s University on the Square: Documenting Egypt’s 21st Century Revolution project). A range of politically-oriented activity is covered, from electoral campaigns to dissent, activism, and commemoration. Web content in a variety of forms is captured, including blogs, institutional websites, social media, and online news coverage."

Shamaa provides specialists and stakeholders free internet access to the educational studies produced in the Arab countries, as well as those available through international organizations with whom Shamaa has concluded cooperation agreements. Shamaa also welcomes submissions by researchers on education in the Arab countries produced worldwide. It indexes peer-refereed articles, Master theses and PhD dissertations, books, reports and conference proceedings dated 2007 onward in Arabic, English and French. The database includes bibliographic information, abstracts and, when available, the full text of educational studies

"The Alliance for Middle East Peace (ALLMEP) leads a growing network of over 170 civil society organizations, with hundreds of thousands of Palestinians and Israelis living and working in the region. Our work advances cooperation, trust, justice, equality, mutual understanding, and peace within and between these communities."

International human rights activism organization. This page specifically looks at their overview of human rights in the Middle East and North Africa.

"The Arab Network for Environment and Development (RAED) is an international non-governmental organization established in 1990 and headquartered in Egypt. It is officially registered in the Egyptian Ministry of Social Solidarity since 2007. The organization operates throughout the Arab, Mediterranean and African regions. and focuses on environmental and sustainable development challenges, with emphasis on the Rio Conventions"

Large international organization devoted to building camaraderie and cooperation between regional states. Membership currently includes Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

"The World Bank works with countries in the Middle East and North Africa to eliminate poverty and promote shared prosperity through strengthening human capital, supporting jobs and economic transformation, advancing gender equity, addressing fragility, and enabling green growth."

Database of 2000+ NGOs operating within the Arab region

Search the websites of over 3000 intergovernmental organizations.

Custom search for the websites of over 1000 nongovernmental organizations