Research Guides: Middle East and North African Studies: News & Analysis

General News Sites/Databases

Access world news
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Factiva
Factiva is a research platform providing access to over 33,000 global news sources, including newspapers, magazines, and journals in 32 languages from over 200 countries. It offers millions of corporate profiles and advanced tools for analyzing media coverage.

Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.

Middle East/North Africa News Sites/Databases

Databases

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring. Content is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
AllAfrica
Contains articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and other news sources both inside and outside Africa.

Online Portals

Al Jazeera
Prominent independent (though funded in part by the Qatari government) news platform based in the Middle East. Reports on MENA news and also world news from a MENA perspective.
Al-Monitor
Since its founding in 2012, Al-Monitor has provided comprehensive coverage the Middle East, including field reporting and high-profile interviews from Israel, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, the West Bank, Gaza, Egypt, the Gulf and North Africa...Its mission is to foster a deeper understanding of the Middle East through world class reporting and analysis from and about the region.
Al Bawaba
Founded in 2000, Al Bawaba has grown to become a leading source of Middle East news, analysis and information, with a global team of researchers, journalists, experts and curators bringing regional stories to the wider world. Through a sophisticated network of on-the-ground sources, licensed content providers, and an expert team of in-house editors, Al Bawaba has developed an editorial and content strategy which breaks boundaries in Middle East journalism and storytelling. As an independently funded news source, Al Bawaba strives to share local news and insights from across the political spectrum, free from influence and censorship.

US Newspaper Subscriptions/Archives

New York Times

Free Subscription Set-Up:

New York Times Online
by Talia Paz Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 3978 views this year

Archival Databases:

New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015)
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
New York times (digital reproduction, 2008 - present)
Digital reproduction of microfilmed edition. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind.

Wall Street Journal

Free Subscription Set-Up:

Wall Street Journal Online
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Apr 18, 2025 2805 views this year

Archival Database:

Wall Street journal (digital reproduction, 2008 - present)
Digitized version of the Wall Street Journal (eastern edition) newspaper, microfilm edition.
The library's subscription provides access from 2008 to the present. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.

Others

Washington Post
Digitized version of the Washington Post newspaper, microfilm edition.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
Los Angeles Times (2008 to present)
Digitized version of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, microfilm edition.
New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Translations of Foreign News

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
BBC monitoring, summary of world broadcasts.
Previously inaccessible transcripts of original radio and television broadcasts, translated into English and summarized by BBC Monitoring.
UO access: Series 2 1959-1973 and Series 3 1974-1988.

One source of English translations of international news is BBC Monitoring: International Reports, which can be searched via Nexis Uni and BBC Monitoring, Summary of World Broadcasts (Both links at the top of this section). BBC Monitoring translates and analyzes news and information from freely available media sources around the world, covering TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies in 100 different languages from 150 countries.

To search:

Connect to the Nexis Uni database
Under the main search bar, click Find a Source (far-right button)
Navigate to the B section of the list of sources and scroll until you find BBC Monitoring: International Reports listed
From there you can search within the results, which will be limited to those coming from BBC Monitoring

Middle East and North African Studies

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

General News Sites/Databases

Middle East/North Africa News Sites/Databases

US Newspaper Subscriptions/Archives

Translations of Foreign News