Research Guides: Pacific NW Environmental History &amp; Governance: U.S. Federal

U.S. Federal Sources

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The official Government Publishing Office (GPO) database that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information resources, including Federal agency online resources and materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. Coverage: July 1976 to present.

Congress.gov
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public. Contains information on legislation as far back as the 93rd congress (1973-1974)

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Index to Congressional publications from 1789 to present; includes fulltext hearings from 1824-1979 and fulltext bills & laws from 1789 to the present

Introduction to ProQuest Congressional tutorial
If you have not yet used ProQuest Congressional, this video tutorial will be helpful.

Presidential -- see the guide to Presidential Papers, Speeches and Executive Orders

Executive Agencies with Environmental Responsibilities

U.S. Forest Service
Under the Dept. of Agriculture, responsible for managing Federal forests and range lands.
Forest Service - Region 6 (Pacific Northwest)
Covers Oregon and Washington
List of PNW National Forests

Idaho is divided between Region 1 (Northern) and Region 4 (Intermountain)

U.S. Department of the Interior -- created in 1849, with a wide range of responsibilities:

Bureau of Indian Affairs
The federal agency (under the Department of the Interior) charged with providing services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
The BLM administers more public land than any other agency in the U.S.

The BLM was created in 1946 out of the General Land Office (1812) and U.S. Grazing Service.

The annual reports of the Commissioner of the General Land Office, 1866-1932 (incomplete) can be found in the Dewey collection, 4th floor, 336.1 Un32r
Some of these reports, along with other historic GLO documents, can be found on the BLM website. BLM also has GLO Land Records online.

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
The BuRec is the water management agency for the Western U.S., since 1902 - dams, power plants, canals, etc.
Fish and Wildlife Service
Created in 1939 with the merger of the Fisheries Service and Biological Survey, both dating from late 1800s.
Geological Survey (USGS)
Research areas include energy and mineral resources, water, climate and land use change, ecosystems. You can also search USGS publications.

There are several USGS report series that go back to the late 1800s/early 1900s, including the Bulletin, the Professional Papers, and the Water Supply Papers.

U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) -- concerns include climate change, clean energy, energy efficiency

Although NOAA is a fairly recently created (1970) agency, it was formed by merging 3 much older agencies: the Coast and Geodetic Survey (1807), the Fisheries Service (ca. 1871), and the National Weather Service (1870).

Citing U.S. Government Publications
A very helpful guide from Indiana University.

APA

Chicago style

MLA