Education

As you start your research, it can be useful to look at sources like encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. These are also known as reference sources. They can help you identify or refine a topic for your research, find useful definitions or overviews of a specific subject or issue, identify key concepts and researchers in the field, and find other materials which might be useful for your research.

UO Libraries has sources like these both online and in print form. Print reference books are located on the first floor of Knight Library and are organized by call number. 

These databases let you a search a multidisciplinary collection of reference sources and may be a good place to start if you aren't sure what type of reference source would have information on the topic you're interested in. 

General

• 21st century education: A reference handbook   REF KNIGHT  LA210 .A15 2008
• Annual Reviews: Psychology, law and social science, clinical psychology, political science,sociology, anthropology
• CQ Reseacher:  Great database for short reports on all types of public interest topics - including education.
• Encyclopedia of education (2nd ed.), 2003; REF KNIGHT  LB 15 .E47 2003 or on online
• Encyclopedia of educational research  REF KNIGHT  LB 15 .E48 1992
• Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education   REF KNIGHT   LB17 .E53 2009 and online
• Handbook of research on learning and instruction    REF KNIGHT  LB1060 .H34575 2011
• Handbook of research on the education of young children   REF KNIGHT  LB1119 .H25 2012
• Handbook of social justice in education; REF KNIGHT  LC 71 .H364 2009
• International encyclopedia of education  2010
• National Society for the Study of Education Yearbook 2004 - current
• Review of educational research (this link is to issues 1999 to the present.  Check UO catalog for electronic access to older issues)
• Review of research in education (this link is to issues 1999 to the present.  Check UO catalog for electronic access older issues)
• Social theory and education research    REF KNIGHT  LB1028 .S635 2013
• A nice general source (for "hot" topics - not simply Education topics) is CQ Researcher  (this link is to a search on Children in CQ Researcher)

Special Education

• Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults; REF KNIGHT  LC4007 .E53 2000
• Encyclopedia of disability; REF KNIGHT  HV 1568 .E528 2006 or online
• Handbook of adolescent transition education for youth with disabilities  KNIGHT REF  LC4031 .H358 2012
• Handbook of autism and pervasive developmental disorders KNIGHT REF RJ 506 .A9 H26 2014
• Handbook of reading disability research
• Handbook of special education   REF KNIGHT  LC3965 .H262 2011
•  International handbook of austim and pervasive developmental disorders 
• International review of research in developmental disabilities
• Oxford handbook of intellectual disability and development REF KNIGHT RC 370 .096 2012

Specific subjects and curriculum content areas

• Cambridge handbook of creativity
• Cambridge handbook of second language acquisition   REF KNIGHT   P 118.2 .C356 2013 AND Online
• Educational media and technology yearbook  REF KNIGHT  LB 1028.3 .E37
• Encyclopedia of African American education    REF KNIGHT  LC 2717 .E63 2010
•  Encyclopedia of bilingual education 
• Encyclopedia of school crime and violence
• Handbook of bilingualism and multilingualism
• Handbook of bullying in schools: An international perspective  REF KNIGHT  LB 3013.3 .H343 2010
• Handbook of early childhood development research and its impact on global policy  REF KNIGHT  HQ 767.9 .H347 2013
• Handbook of education policy research   REF KNIGHT  LC 71 .H363 2009 
• Handbook of research on the education of school leaders
• Handbook of reading interventions   REF KNIGHT  LB 1050.5 .H267 2011
• Handbook of reading research
• Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts
•  Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning 
• Handbook of research on science education  REF KNIGHT  Q 181 .H149 2007 
• Handbook of research on the education of young children   REF KNIGHT  LB 1119 .H25 2012
• Handbook of research-based practice in early education
• Handbook of school violence and school safety: International research and practice REF KNIGHT LB 3013.3 .H346 2012
• International handbook of research on environmental education  REF KNIGHT  GE 70 .I584 2013
• Oxford handbook of child and adolescent eating disorders: Developmental perspectives REF KNIGHT RJ 506.E18 O94 2012
• School services sourcebook  REF KNIGHT LB 3013.4 .S372 2013
• Second handbook of research on mathematics teaching and learning  REF KNIGHT   QA 11 .S365 2007
• Second international handbook of science education