Research Guides: Education: Articles (Databases)

Peer-reviewed articles

While LibrarySearch or Google Scholar can be useful, subject-specific databases allow for more targeted searching.

These databases are a good place to find peer-reviewed journal articles in the discipline of Education. Some of these databases are also good places to find dissertations, conference papers, and other types of scholarly literature.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
The main database for the discipline of education.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
covers all aspects of the study of language including literacy and second language learning.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nice cross-disciplinary coverage however coverage of education journals is weak.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

News and magazine articles

Education Week
Education Week is a national newspaper and website that covers topics related to K-12 education in the United States. Please note that you will need to login with your Duck ID to use this resource, even if you are on campus.
Rethinking Schools Magazine
A magazine from the nonprofit organization Rethinking Schools. If you are off-campus, use the VPN software to ensure that you have access to all articles.

New York times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription. UO’s New York Times online subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day. NYT Archive page offers alternatives).
OCLC #34107580

altered display of research guide link in the description, per request. mcg03102023
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
ca. 1980-current (dates of coverage vary by publication). Full-text of major English-language newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including the New York Times and Washington Post. Also includes broadcast transcripts from major television and radio networks, over 300 college/university papers,and selected wire services. A good place to start if you want to search multiple newspapers at once.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Also see the following guide for more information on finding newspaper articles:

Finding Newspaper Resources
by Talia Paz Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 267 views this year

Accessing the full text of articles

When you're looking at an article in a database, look for a link to access the full text of the article as a PDF or HTML full text.

If there's no full text link available, click on the FindText button (or it might say "Access Options" or "Find it @ UO") to see what your other options for access are. This will take you to the library catalog, where it will show you whether the article is available from a different source through the library's subscriptions.

If you still can't find the full text of the article, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loan. You should receive the article electronically within 1-2 days.

Education

Need Help?

College of Education Librarian

Peer-reviewed articles

News and magazine articles

Accessing the full text of articles