Research Guides: Dance: News & Magazine

Finding News and Popular Dance Articles

Newspapers and magazines are useful sources for other kinds of articles about dance, particularly reviews of performances and interviews with performers and choreographers. Below are several databases that let you search for news and magazine articles.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to newspaper and magazine articles from all over the world, back to 1980.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
New York times (digital reproduction, 2008 - present) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of microfilmed edition. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind.
Readers' Guide retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
General-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States. Dates of coverage are from 1890 - 1982.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.

Need Help?

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music