Research Guides: Dance: Articles

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL

Finding Scholarly Dance Articles

Databases
Print Indexes & Bibliographies

The following databases index scholarly peer-reviewed articles on dance. Some provide full-text electronic copies of the articles, while others provide only the bibliographic citation of the article and an abstract (summary) of its contents. If you find a citation for a useful-looking article that doesn't include full-text access, use the FindText button to see if UO has a copy of the article or to submit an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request for articles UO doesn't have. Articles requested through ILL are sent electronically and usually arrive in a few days.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A general online index that has articles on dance in society, and connects to full-text journal articles.
Arts & Humanities citation index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index, part of the Web of Science, that allows you to trace the how many times an article has been cited by other authors.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive of online journals provides browsing capability of the full journals, including the Dance Chronicle, Dance Research, and the CORD News, through the Browse screen, under Performing Arts.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
A good general starting point for research about dance, indexing many of the standard dance journals. This resource also indexes dissertations. The database indexes articles back to 1970, but print copies of Music Index cover articles back to 1949 (available in the Music Reference collection on the 3rd floor of Knight.)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
This online index is especially strong for dance articles in other languages and other cultures. This resource also indexes dissertations and part of books.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
An index of sport and physical education periodicals published in English or French. This is especially useful for articles on physiology, kinesiology, and dance therapy. Indexing is available from 1949 to the present.

New York Public Library Dance Catalog
NYPL's catalog, includes indexing of dance journals and articles-- be sure to open the "Collection" menu and select "Dance Research Collection" before doing your search.
New York Public Library Dance Divison: Digital Images Collection
Database of digitized images from the Jerome Robbins Dance Division of the New York Public Library.
New York Public Library Dance Division: Digital Audio & Video
Database of digitized audio and video content from the Jerome Robbins Dance Division of the New York Public Library.

Before the internet and databases, journal articles were indexed in print volumes that were often published yearly. Some of the older print indexes are still useful to researchers for tracing historical publications about dance, from journals that may no longer exist, or that cover earlier chronological periods than many databases index.

Index to Dance Periodicals by New York Public Library Performing Arts Division
Call Number: MUSIC REF Z7514.D2 I53
Publication Date: 2000-2001
Dance Abstracts and Index by Dance Database Project
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1594 .D35
Publication Date: 1989-1990
Guide to Dance Periodicals by S. Yancey Belknap
Call Number: MUSIC REF Z7514.D2 G8
Publication Date: 1936-1962
Guide to the Performing Arts by S. Yancey Belknap
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML118 .G8
Publication Date: 1956-1968
This index absorbed the Guide to Dance Periodicals in 1965.
Research in Dance by Mary S. Bopp
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1594 .B67 1994
Publication Date: 1993
General bibliography of scholarly research in dance, includes citations for articles and books.

Need Help?

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music