Research Guides: Dance: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Why use encyclopedias?

Use encyclopedias to compile background information on your topic. Academic encyclopedias provide essay-type articles written by expert scholars, and usually include bibliographies for each entry, which can point you to recommended books and articles on your topic. Some of the encyclopedias linked here are online, while others are physical books located in the Dance section on the Index Table in the Music Reference area on the 3rd floor of Knight Library.

Dictionaries

Consult these sources (as well as the encyclopedias below) for definitions of terms in dance:

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1585 .C78 2000 + online
Publication Date: 2010
A single-volume reference on all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms. Includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.

American Ballet Theatre's Online Ballet Dictionary
Interactive online dictionary of 170 ballet terms, including images and media.

Subject Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma J. Cohen; Dance Perspectives Foundation Staff (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1585 .I586 1998 + online access through Oxford Reference Online
Publication Date: 1998
This six-volume reference work covers all forms of dance on a global scale, from antiquity to the present day.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Martha Bremser (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1585 .I57 1993
Publication Date: 1993
The International Dictionary of Ballet has as its subject all of ballet, from its beginnings in the Renaissance to contemporary dance.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf (Editor); Glynis Benbow-Niemier (Contribution by); St. James Press Staff
Call Number: MUSIC REF GV1585 .I58 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Offering a comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This database package includes online access to Grove Music Online, the largest and most comprehensive music encyclopedia. Grove Music Online includes articles related to ballet, modern, jazz, and folk dances in the context of their relationship to musical styles and theatrical works.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997
The largest comprehensive encyclopedia of world music, spanning 10 volumes, each focused on a different continent or region.

Need Help?

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music