"I have heard our elders give advice like 'You should go among the standing people' or 'Go spend some time with those Beaver people.' They remind us of the capacity of others as our teachers, as holders of knowledge, as guides. Imagine walking through a richly inhabited world of Birch people, Bear people, Rock people, beings we think of and therefore speak of as persons worthy of our respect, of inclusion in a peopled world. We Americans are reluctant to learn a foreign language of our own species, let alone another species. But imagine the possibilities. Imagine the access we would have to different perspectives, the things we might see through other eyes, the wisdom that surrounds us. We don't have to figure everything out by ourselves: there are intelligences other than our own, teachers all around us."
Braiding Sweetgrass, Learning the Grammar of Animacy (p. 58)
As you explore ideas and activities related to Ways of Knowing, whether in class or in the Canvas Community site, you're likely to come across new terms or concepts. Here are some examples:
Of course you can search for information online or in Wikipedia, but did you know UO Libraries provides you no-cost access to academic reference publications like encyclopedias?
The following is a screen capture of a search in LibrarySearch for the term "monoculture," with the "Reference Entries" filter applied. You'll find this filter on the left side of the page. Select "Remember all filters" to keep this filter active during multiple searches.
Unlike Wikipedia, these resources are citable. While Wikipedia entries can be highly credible, it can be difficult to determine the author, and therefore more challenging to check the authority or trustworthiness of the information. UO Libraries reference resources are created and edited by scholarly publishers who have strong reputations for publishing accurate information.
In addition, these reference resources are often much more highly specialized than general information found online. For example, do you need a defintion for a biology class? Check out this Dictionary of Biology from Oxford University Press:
A Dictionary of Biology by
This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of research design and plant and animal development. Over 120 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus, now totalling over 5,600 authoritative and up-to-date entries. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms. With new diagrams and updated web links, this remains the market-leading dictionary for students of biology, both at sixth form college and university level.
In addition to searching LibrarySearch, you can also search directly in some of our most popular reference databases:
A research methodology is a specific way that a researcher carries out a research study. There are many, many methodologies but different disciplines tend to have their own approaches. For example, a Social Scientist may use interviews in her research study about teachers, but a Economist may use statistical analysis of economic data to draw conclusions.
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by 
Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, Conversations, and Contexts by
"An innovative and important contribution to Indigenous research approaches, this revised second edition provides a framework for conducting Indigenous methodologies, serving as an entry point to learn more broadly about Indigenous research."--Provided by publisher.
Indigenous Statistics: a Quantitative research methodology by
In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada. Concise and accessible, it is an ideal supplementary text as well as a core component of the methodological toolkit for anyone conducting Indigenous research or using Indigenous population statistics.
Research Is Ceremony: Indigenous Research Methods by
Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don't just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information. I'm an Opaskwayak Cree from northern Manitoba currently living in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales, Australia. I'm also a father of three boys, a researcher, son, uncle, teacher, world traveller, knowledge keeper and knowledge seeker. As an educated Indian, I've spent much of my life straddling the Indigenous and academic worlds. Most of my time these days is spent teaching other Indigenous knowledge seekers (and my kids) how to accomplish this balancing act while still keeping both feet on the ground.
Modelling Methodology for Physiology and Medicine by
Modelling Methodology for Physiology and Medicine, Second Edition, offers a unique approach and an unprecedented range of coverage of the state-of-the-art, advanced modeling methodology that is widely applicable to physiology and medicine. The second edition, which is completely updated and expanded, opens with a clear and integrated treatment of advanced methodology for developing mathematical models of physiology and medical systems. Readers are then shown how to apply this methodology beneficially to real-world problems in physiology and medicine, such as circulation and respiration. The focus of Modelling Methodology for Physiology and Medicine, Second Edition, is the methodology that underpins good modeling practice. It builds upon the idea of an integrated methodology for the development and testing of mathematical models. It covers many specific areas of methodology in which important advances have taken place over recent years and illustrates the application of good methodological practice in key areas of physiology and medicine. It builds on work that the editors have carried out over the past 30 years, working in cooperation with leading practitioners in the field.
Qualitative Strategies for Ethnocultural Research by
Culture has become one of the most important constructs in contemporary psychology, yet when behavioural and social scientists attempt to research ethnocultural communities, they typically rely on wholly quantitative methods, excluding the richness and vitality that numbers alone cannot convey. This volume presents the state-of-the-art discourse on qualitative methods in psychology and community studies. Geared toward multiple audiences, Qualitative Strategies for Ethnocultural Research provides crucial background on the methodological concepts of qualitative approaches to appeal to undergraduate and graduate students being trained in qualitative methods. Yet it includes a wide range of detailed case examples on innovative qualitative approaches to attract researchers in the behavioural and social sciences. Anyone involved in community-level ethnographic research or psychological intervention programs will benefit from this significant and timely work. The chapters in Part I of this edited volume span an array of methodological issues in qualitative research, with particular attention to studies and interventions in ethnocultural communities that have been marginalised. Part II includes chapters that address specific qualitative research applications. Authors from the United States and abroad provide examples of research dilemmas and recommendations for this and the next generation of qualitative researchers.
Research Methods for Environmental Studies by
The methodological needs of environmental studies are unique in the breadth of research questions that can be posed, calling for a textbook that covers a broad swath of approaches to conducting research with potentially many different kinds of evidence.　　 Written specifically for social science-based research into the environment, this book covers the best-practice research methods most commonly used to study the environment and its connections to societal and economic activities and objectives. Over five key parts, Kanazawa introduces quantitative and qualitative approaches, mixed methods, and the special requirements of interdisciplinary research, emphasizing that methodological practice should be tailored to the specific needs of the project. Within these parts, detailed coverage is provided on key topics including the identification of a research project; spatial analysis; ethnography approaches; interview technique; and ethical issues in environmental research.　 Drawing on a variety of extended examples to encourage problem-based learning and fully addressing the challenges associated with interdisciplinary investigation, this book will be an essential resource for students embarking on courses exploring research methods in environmental studies.
Visual Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
Visual Research Methods is a guide for students, researchers and teachers in the social sciences who wish to explore and actively use a visual dimension in their research. This book offers an integrated approach to doing visual research, showing the potential for building convincing case studies using a mix of visual forms including: archive images, media, maps, objects, buildings, and video interviews. Examples of the visual construction of 'place', social identity and trends of analysis are given in the first section of the book, whilst the essays in the second section highlight the astonishing creativity and innovation of four visual researchers. Each detailed example serves as a touchstone of quality and analysis in research, with themes ranging from the ethnography of a Venezuelan cult goddess to the forensic photography of the skeleton of a fourteenth-century nobleman. They give a keen sense of the motives, philosophies and benefits of using visual research methods. This volume will be of practical interest to those embarking on visual research as well as more experienced researchers. Key concerns include the power of images and their changing significance in a world of cross - mediation, techniques of analysis and ethical issues, and how to unlock the potential of visual data for research.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485