Research Guides: UO REU site guide: Increasing American Indian/Alaska Native perspectives in field and experimental linguistics: 2. Background Information

Reference Materials for Linguistics

Linguistics - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is a bibliography and reference tool that provides expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them in the field of Linguistics.

Annual Review of Linguistics
Literature reviews can also provide a useful overview of the research on a topic. While you can find literature reviews published in peer-reviewed journals, Annual Review of Linguistics focuses entirely on literature reviews in the field of Linguistics.

Ethnologue: languages of the world This link opens in a new window
Reference database profiling all of the world’s known living languages.

Glottolog (Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages)
Glottolog aims to provide complete references on the world's languages (apart from national languages and a few dozen other major languages for which thousands of studies exist). At the moment, it contains 408600 references on 26285 varieties and families. (as of 10/12/2022)

Anthropology online This link opens in a new window Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
Call Number: P129 .E527 2013 (Knight Library General Collection)
Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003

Handbook of Cognitive Semantics, Vol. 1
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2023
Semantics
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016

The Handbook of Bilingualism and Multilingualism
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Bilingualism
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006

Dictionary of Languages
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
The Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World
Call Number: P107.A87 2003 (Knight Library - Map Atlas)
Publication Date: 2003
Atlas of the World's Languages
Call Number: G1046.E3 A8 2007 OVERSIZE X material (Knight Library - Map Atlas)
Publication Date: 2007
Compendium of the World's Languages
Call Number: P371 .C36 2000 (Knight Library General Collection)
Publication Date: 2004
The World Atlas of Language Structures
Call Number: G1046.E3 W6 2005 (Knight Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2005

The Cambridge Handbook of Endangered Languages
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
Call Number: P40.5.L33 A841 2010 (Knight Library General Collection)
Publication Date: 2010
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Endangered Languages
Call Number: P40.5.E53 O94 2018 (Knight Library General Collection)
Publication Date: 2018