Scoreography of Women Composers: A listing of scores in the UO Music collection by women composers. This list was last updated in 2011 and does not include scores added to the collection since then.
The UO Music Collection contains a number of score anthologies that compile music by women composers, and which can be useful for performance or for teaching. Several are listed below:
New Historical Anthology of Music by Women by
"In this new edition of Historical Anthology of Music by Women, Briscoe offers an indispensable resource for our own moment.... He has commissioned new biographical and critical essays by leading musicologists such as Thomas J. Mathiesen, Elizabeth Aubrey, Suzanne Cusick, Ellen Rosand, and Mark Everist, thus making the most recent interpretations of these women and their music easily available for the classroom." --from the Foreword by Susan McClary New Historical Anthology of Music by Women updates the extremely popular collection with 55 compositions by 46 women composers from the ancient Greeks to the present. Each work is introduced by an informative essay by a specialist in the field, with recommendations for further reading, listening, and performing. Historical scores have been transcribed into modern notation for ease of use, and the works represent a wide variety of genres, including solo songs, chamber music, piano music, and orchestral scores. Composers include Sappho, Hildegard of Bingen, Barbara Strozzi, Clara Schumann, and Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel. The anthology includes a foreword by Susan McClary, the leading scholar on women's music. New Historical Anthology of Music by Women is supplemented by an expanded 3-CD set featuring newly commissioned recordings. Contributors: Elizabeth Aubrey, Laura Barcel#65533;-Lastra, Melissa Blakesly, Adrienne Fried Block, Marcia J. Citron, Suzanne Cusick, David Gordon Duke, Susan Erickson, Mark Everist, Jill Munroe Fankhauser, Annegret Fauser, Nancy Fierro, Susan M. Filler, Barbara Garvey Jackson, Bryony Jones, Michael Klaper, Carolyn Lindeman, Roberta Lindsey, Thomas J. Mathiesen, Hidemi Matsushita, Susan McClary, Sharon Mirchandani, Craig B. Parker, Karin Pendle, Barbara A. Petersen, Martin Picker, Janet Pollack, Caroline Potter, Nancy B. Reich, Ellen Rosand, Judith Rosen, and Diane Touliatos-Milesis.
Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women by
"... a valuable resource for students and teachers, women and men, who wish to enlarge their understanding of women's contributions to classical new music." --Women & Music "... an important collection that should quickly find its way into courses on the music of our century.... This anthology offers a significant step toward our richer understanding of musical expressiveness in the late twentieth century." --Notes The creativity of women in contemporary art, literature, and general culture is well recognized, but their excellence in musical composition remains largely unrecognized. To remedy that oversight, this book brings together scores by 30 composers from around the world in a single, accessible collection encompassing concert and religious music as well as jazz, pop, experimental, and cross-over works. Each piece is introduced by a short biography of the composer, including the formative influences on her life, her role models, the obstacles she encountered, the recognition she has attained, bibliographic references, and discographies.
The First Solos: Songs by Women Composers, Vol. 1 (High Voice) by 
Women Composers - A Heritage of Song by
(Vocal Collection). With 45 songs by 22 composers, this is the most comprehensive single volume of art songs composed by women ever published. It includes biographical information about the composers and historical information about each song, with songs in English, French, German and Italian.
Inspired by Goethe: Songs by Women Composers of the 18th and 19th Centuries by 
Art Songs and Spirituals by African-American Women Composers by 
Anthology of Latin American and Iberian Art Songs by Women Composers by
An Anthology of Latin American and Iberian art songs by Women composers including 23 songs in Spanish, Catalan, and Portuguese by five composers from Argentina, Brazil, Catalunya, Cuba, and Colombia. The book includes a bilingual introductory study presenting the composers and poets, poetry translations, and sheet music.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
