Research Guides: Women in Music: Articles

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL

Finding Scholarly Articles About Women in Music

Journals

The UO Libraries subscribe to the following journals that specialize in research on women in music:

The International Congress on Women in Music Newsletter by International Congress on Women in Music
Call Number: ML26.I54
Publication Date: v.2(1984)-v.6(1989)
Later titles: ILWC Journal, IAWM Journal
Women & Music: A Journal of Gender and Culture. by International Alliance for Women in Music
Call Number: ML82 .W62
Publication Date: v. 1 (1997) - v. 13 (2009); online access 1999-present
ILWC Journal by International League of Women Composers
Call Number: ML1 .I55
Publication Date: 1989-1995
Earlier Title: International League of Women Composers Newsletter
Later Title: IAWM Journal
IAWM Journal by International Alliance of Women in Music
Call Number: ML82 .I28
Publication Date: v.1 (1995)-v. 13 (2007)
Previous title: ILWC Journal
Paid My Dues: A Quarterly Journal of Women and Music by Calliope Publishing
Call Number: ML1 .P1052
Publication Date: v.2 (1977) - v.4 (1980)
Pan pipes: Sigma Alpha Iota Quarterly. by Sigma Alpha Iota
Call Number: ML1 .P1055
Publication Date: v. 73 (1980) - present
One of the first resources that listed women composers' performances.
The Triangle of Mu Phi Epsilon by Mu Phi Epsilon
Call Number: ML1 .T52
Publication Date: v.80 (1986) - v.104 (2011)

Databases for Articles and Dissertations

To find articles related to women in music in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Viva: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of articles about women's and gender history.
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources dealing with U.S. women's history from 1600 to 2000
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I currently work on campus on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and work remotely on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. I am available for in-person research consultations on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and for virtual consultations (via Zoom, Teams, or phone) on any weekday.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music