The following items in the UO Music Collection can help you locate repertoire composed by women for research and concert programming:
A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers by 
Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by
For the flutist wishing to perform music composed by women, this annotated catalog will come as a most welcome addition to the numerous flute bibliographies now available. Boenke has spent four years gleaning all possible sources to come up with several hundred listings of composers from three centuries and 40 different countries. When the information is available, she lists publisher and the OCLC system record number after the routinely listed title and instrumentation. In addition to the alphabetical listing are indexes for instrumentation, title, publisher, and composer. A short list of sources is heavy on LC and NUC catalogs as well as the several standard sources on women in music. This volume could serve as an example for instrument-specific music bibliographies. For flutists it is priceless. "Choice" This book, an alphabetical listing of flute music by women composers, provides ready access to flute music that is published or available in manuscript form. Unlike any previous handbook of the flute repertoire, it is devoted entirely to the works of women, the vast majority of whom are not mentioned in the standard catalogs of flute literature. A carefully compiled study, the volume examines the quantity, variety, and scope of women's work in this genre and includes composers from more than forty countries, spanning three centuries. It contains works for solo flute, duets, flute and piano, concertos, woodwind quintets, other chamber ensembles, or any work that employs soloistic use of the flute. It also provides biographical information on the composers, publishers, availability of works, and annotations on the works themselves. All compositions are indexed by title and by instrumentation, and publishers and contemporary composers are listed with current addresses, to facilitate the ordering of music. The first published volume of its kind, this unusual work will draw attention to valuable and unknown repertoire in this genre and provide the opportunity for women's works to be heard more often. It will be useful in all university music libraries and conservatories, and it will be a valuable resource for professional flutists, teachers of flute, and researcher in women's studies.
Guitar Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by
A practical guide for guitarists searching for new repertoire that includes women composers, this unique work lists musical works by instrumentation followed by biographies of each composer. The format first leads users to available pieces in possible ensembles and then to the biographical section, which introduces them to the composers, many of whom have been completely unknown in the guitar world. Appendixes list addresses for composers and publishers. Indexes cross reference composers with their works. Instrumentation entries include titles, composer names, publisher names, specific instruments, and length and description of the piece for indication of style. In the biographical entries, sources are given to guide the reader to more complete information about the composer. These features, combined with valuable appendixes, indexes, and cross-referencing capabilities from section to section, make this work easy to use.
Keyboard Music by Women Composers: A Catalog and Bibliography by 
Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by
This reference work catalogs music for organ and harpsichord written by more than 700 women composers from 40 countries. Compiler Adel Heinrich has expanded the organ and harpsichord repertoire to include choir and instruments accompanying organ and harpsichord. She provides more detailed information about each work than can be found in any other reference book on women composers. In addition to biographies for each woman, Heinrich supplies listings of individual compositions, and includes descriptions and sources whenever possible. Each composition is listed in both the Instrumentation Index and the Title Index. Publishers, library sources, and recording companies with their addresses are also provided. There is also a chronological listing of composers by country. Two appendices list a large number of women who have either written music for organ and harpsichord with no specific titles known, or have performed on one or both instruments. This reference book is a valuable resource for organists, harpsichordists, teachers, choral and instrumental conductors, and planners of festivals and recitals.
Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works by
The depth of detail in this comprehensive catalog of music composed by African American women required limiting the scope to solo and ensemble piano music, but an introductory overview on the contributions of black women in music and biographical sketches on the 54 composers profiled in the catalog contain broader information. Over 300 piano works are listed, with detailed descriptive information on close to 200 works that Walker-Hill was able to obtain and study. Appendixes list available published music, ensemble instrumentation, music for teaching, and music published before 1920.
Women Composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice by 
Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th Centuries by
Jackson has culminated her lifelong research in producing this bibliographically arranged guide. "Say Can You Deny Me" lists the locations of the printed and manuscript sources of Renaissance, baroque, classic, and some early romantic women composers. With listings from over 400 libraries worldwide, the guide is the definitive work documenting a substantial contribution to the world of music by women.
Violin Music by Women Composers: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide by
Provides convenient access to a body of solo, recital, concerto, and chamber music literature that will enrich the repertoire of the violinist. Includes a biographies section which briefly summarizes the life and work of women composers from the Baroque to 20th century American and International. The music section identifies and describes compositions in 12 genre categories. The discography organizes recorded works by composer and by title. "Reference and Research Book News" This bibliography enhances the repertoire of the violinist by providing convenient access to a new solo recital, concerto, and chamber music literature: the music of women composers. While other source books exist in which some of this information could be found, it is often incomplete or in such abundance that selection is difficult. This well-organized bibliography will not only simplify the process of obtaining such information, but it represents a valuable contribution to the relatively new study of the musical compositions of women. "Violin Music by Women Composers" is divided into three main sections: Biographies, Music, and Discography. Preceding these is a general alphabetical index to all the composers included in the work, with reference to information on them contained in the three main sections following. The Biographies section is divided among five eras beginning with Baroque and concluding with Twentieth Century International. The second section of the book, Music, is organized in twelve genre categories in which composers are entered alphabetically along with the titles of their compositions. Wherever possible, information is provided on date of composition, publisher and/or source, and duration; often with additional comments included. Library sources are given for manuscripts and for published music that is out of print; otherwise, a current publisher is listed. The Discography section organizes recorded works alphabetically by composer, then alphabetically by title. This section also includes a directory of recording companies. The volume concludes with a bibliography and references. "Violin Music by Women Composers" is a unique, up-to-date, and thoughtfully organized resource. Exploring its contents will certainly inform and add to the repertoire of violinists and their presenters.
Piano Music by Women Composers, Volume II: Women Born After 1900 by
Often unknown and overlooked, solo piano music written by women composers deserve space in the standard piano repertoire. "A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers Volume II: The Twentieth Century" acts as a companion to "A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers Volume I: Composers Born Before 1900" to create a comprehensive reference of women composers and their work. "Volume II" includes composers from countries around the world and of all different musical styles and levels, ranging from elementary to virtuoso. The only reference tool of its kind, this is an indispensable guide for professional pianists and piano teachers alike. For each of the 850 composers listed, there is a short biography, a description of available music and where it can be found, and a list of further references. Alphabetical listings with encyclopedia-style headings, clear, succinct language, and grade levels of compositions make this a practical, user-friendly resource to inform and educate piano enthusiasts about the contributions of women composers.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
