Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 308: Comunidades bilingües

This research guide was created to support students enrolled in Spanish 308

News and Other Primary Sources

News databases
Video databases
Online Open Web (Free) Resources

AudioVisual Resources for Spanish Linguistics/Phonetics

About Special Collections and University Archives

Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)!

We are the principal repository for the University of Oregon’s historical research collections in all formats including manuscripts, printed books, maps, photographs, and prints.  The archives of the University of Oregon, including historic administrative records and personal papers of many faculty members, comprise a substantial part of the collections.  Overall, the department’s holdings include more than 20 thousand linear feet of manuscript collections.  Located in the north wing of the Knight Library, the Department is open to scholars and researchers regardless of institutional affiliation. Each year we see thousands of researchers who come to consult our resources. 

The archivists and librarians welcome the opportunity to help you with your research.

PCUN Archives: UO Libraries Special Collections

PCUN archival material: Chale con el Draft button

This photograph is of a button held in the UO Libraries Special Collections & University Archives PCUN Records.

About the PCUN Organization

Started in Woodburn in 1985 by WVIP leaders Cipriano Ferrel, Ramón Ramírez, and Larry Kleinman, the Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (Northwest Tree-Planters and Farmworkers United, PCUN) has pursued a multipronged approach to serving Oregon’s Latinx community from its inception. In addition to labor organizing, PCUN has been an engine for environmental and immigration reform, labor rights, farmworker housing, and bilingual education, and has been a strong ally to anti-racist, LGBT rights, and environmental movements in addition to other progressive causes. PCUN has been instrumental in founding organizations including the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation, CAUSA (Oregon’s largest Latinx civil rights organization), the Mujeres Luchadoras Progresistas (an organization for Latina rights), the CAPACES Leadership Institute (a youth organizing and leadership training institute), and the low-power FM radio station KPCN. Today PCUN is the largest Latinx organization in the state of Oregon.

Search the PCUN Records

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Archivist, Curator of Manuscripts

Profile Photo
Linda Long
https://libraryh3lp.com/chat/uo_lindalong@chat.libraryh3lp.com?skin=22328
Contact:
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, Oregon 97403-1299
(541) 346-1906

Related UO Libraries Research Guides

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift