Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 308: Comunidades bilingües

This research guide was created to support students enrolled in Spanish 308

Step 2 - Finding Background Information

Tree icon from Noun ProjectLike the roots of a tree, background information is not always visible but it does play an important role in your research.

Starting research often means finding an overview of a topic, checking facts and data, checking dates of significant events, or looking up definitions of specialized terms. Reference books can give background information, including the scope of the topic area, noteworthy people, and statistics to help jumpstart your research.

4 Places to Find Quick Facts (Infographic)

If you're not sure where to start with a research project, but have a topic in mind, you can start with these suggestions to get ideas:

4 Places to Find Quick Facts

Long Description of "4 Places to Find Quick Facts" for Web Accessibility

Using Wikipedia for Research (Infographic)

In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible. 

Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!

 

Infographic about using Wikipedia for research

Long description of "Using Wikipedia for Research" for web accessibility

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Background Info/Reference Databases - General Subjects

Before you start any research on your topic, you must develop some background knowledge including facts, dates, and names of important people, places, or theories. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

  1. Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language (look for keywords!) when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
  2. This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language is, then you should consider narrowing your topic.

Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.

Library Reference Subscription Databases
Open Web (Free) Resources

General Linguistics & Language Reference Materials

Language Resources

Culture & Ethnicity Reference Sources

Step 2: Pause to Reflect

Reflecting person icon from Noun ProjectWhat is considered background information can vary by discipline. If you're not sure what it is or where to find it, check out this YouTube video on primary, secondary, and tertiary sources from Suffolk County Library.

Are you citing background information in your research paper/project? You can always check with your instructor to see if that is acceptable for the assignment or within your discipline/major.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Knight Library Reference Collection

Knight Library has a Reference Collection on Level 1 near the Research Help Desk.

Photograph of hawk sculpture sitting on top reference collection shelves

 Reference works contain background information on a variety of topics related to the major fields of study at the University of Oregon and beyond. Use this information to check facts, look for ideas, and to get an overview of a topic or field. The items in this collection cannot be checked out, they are kept in the building so that all may use them.

Materials can be very specialized in this collection. For example, A Reference Encyclopedia of The American Indian.

Photograph of Native American encyclopedias and other reference works

Our branch libraries also have reference materials at their locations. 

LC Classification for Linguistics

The table below shows where linguistics titles are located by Library of Congress Call Numbers. Linguistics resource can be found in the Knight General Collection, the Knight Reference Collection, and in online eBook subscription databases.

A table showing LC Classification for Subclass P
Call Number Range Description of Subjects Covered
P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
P1-85 General
P87-96 Communication. Mass media 
P94.7

Interpersonal communication

P95-95.6 Oral communication. Speech
P98-98.5 Computational linguistics. Natural language processing 
P99-99.4 Semiotics. Signs and symbols
P99.5-99.6 Nonverbal communication
P101-410

Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar 

P118-118.75 Language acquisition
P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics) 
P201-299 Comparative grammar
P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric 
P302-302.87 Discourse analysis
P306-310 Translating and interpreting
P321-324.5 Etymology
P325-325.5 Semantics
P326-326.5

Lexicology

P327-327.5 Lexicography
P375-381 Linguistic geography 
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift