Research Guides: South Asian Studies: News & Analysis

General News Sites/Databases

Access world news
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Factiva
Factiva is a research platform providing access to over 33,000 global news sources, including newspapers, magazines, and journals in 32 languages from over 200 countries. It offers millions of corporate profiles and advanced tools for analyzing media coverage.
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.

South Asia News Sites/Databases

Historical Databases

South Asian newspapers (Global Resources Network)
South Asian Newspapers encompasses over 170,000 digitized pages from 8 publications, including: Dainika basumatī, Lahore Chronicle (founded in 1849 in Lahore), and Dnyānaprakāśa, among others.
South Asian Newspapers (Readex)
Provides access to 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Online Sites/Portals

Himal Southasian
"Himal Southasian is Southasia’s first and only regional magazine of politics and culture. Independent, non-nationalist, pan-Subcontinental – for over 35 years now, Himal has challenged orthodoxies and covered the region with imagination, rigour and reverence, often defying national censorship regimes and taboos to tell stories that no one else can or will. In a place where nationalism, bigotry and barbed-wire borders mean many neighbours can barely talk to one another, Himal helps Southasians find common cause and voice, with essential stories about their own homes and everything and everyone around them."
South Asia Monitor
"Developed to serve South Asia watchers, policymakers, thought leaders, scholars, journalists and students across the globe...[SAM] features exclusive commentaries, insightful analyses, interviews and reviews contributed by experts, diplomats, ex-armed forces personnel, journalists and domain analysts from the region and other parts of the world. It also curates select news and views related to the region from all eight South Asian countries...[SAM is] As an independent platform of information and opinion/analysis..."
Times of India - South Asia News
"The Times of India (TOI) is an Indian English-language daily newspaper and digital news media owned and managed by The Times Group. It is the fourth-largest newspaper in India by circulation and largest selling English-language daily in the world." (Source: Wikipedia)

US Newspaper Subscriptions/Archives

New York Times

Free Subscription Set-Up:

New York Times Online
by Talia Paz Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 3978 views this year

Archival Databases:

New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015)
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
New York times (digital reproduction, 2008 - present)
Digital reproduction of microfilmed edition. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind.

Wall Street Journal

Free Subscription Set-Up:

Wall Street Journal Online
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Apr 18, 2025 2805 views this year

Archival Database:

Wall Street journal (digital reproduction, 2008 - present)
Digitized version of the Wall Street Journal (eastern edition) newspaper, microfilm edition.
The library's subscription provides access from 2008 to the present. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.

Others

Washington Post
Digitized version of the Washington Post newspaper, microfilm edition.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
Los Angeles Times (2008 to present)
Digitized version of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, microfilm edition.
New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Translations of Foreign News

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
BBC monitoring, summary of world broadcasts.
Previously inaccessible transcripts of original radio and television broadcasts, translated into English and summarized by BBC Monitoring.
UO access: Series 2 1959-1973 and Series 3 1974-1988.

One source of English translations of international news is BBC Monitoring: International Reports, which can be searched via Nexis Uni and BBC Monitoring, Summary of World Broadcasts (Both links at the top of this section). BBC Monitoring translates and analyzes news and information from freely available media sources around the world, covering TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies in 100 different languages from 150 countries.

To search:

Connect to the Nexis Uni database
Under the main search bar, click Find a Source (far-right button)
Navigate to the B section of the list of sources and scroll until you find BBC Monitoring: International Reports listed
From there you can search within the results, which will be limited to those coming from BBC Monitoring

South Asian Studies

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

General News Sites/Databases

South Asia News Sites/Databases

US Newspaper Subscriptions/Archives

Translations of Foreign News