South Asian Studies

"Amplifying the voices of those fighting against long histories of patriarchal dominance, the South Asian Gender and Sexuality Web Archive documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas. With an emphasis on the websites of non-governmental organizations, and on the resources generated by social justice activist groups and individuals, the Archive demonstrates how organizations approach goals of advocacy, education, and capacity building related to issues of gender and sexuality across South Asian regions. An additional focus on resources that showcase the voices of LGBTQAI+ people and women — as revealed in expressions such as oral narratives, writings, performance, and the arts — provides insight into the struggles and resilience of the marginalized, offering content that is largely unavailable or preserved elsewhere and which is likely to disappear."

"The South Asian Governmental Publications Web Archive aims to collect and preserve open access online formats of government serials from South Asia. From demographic data to legislative proceedings, the serials that form the focus of the Archive include publications on all subjects and from all countries of the region (Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka). The Archive complements robust print collections of government documents acquired through the PL-480 and subsequent South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program (SACAP). Many of those titles have migrated to electronic formats but the unstable nature of online content (administrative, political, and technological or platform-based instability) leaves users with less control over and confidence in information than more traditional, print repositories. The South Asian Governmental Publications Web Archive preserves primary source material and safeguards its integrity of the historical record, protecting it from correction, redaction, or removal."

International human rights activism organization. This page specifically looks at their overview of human rights in South Asia

"The Government of the Peoples’ Republic of Bangladesh has established Bangladesh NGO Foundation to support the NGOs, with a view to associate the Non-Governmental Organizations in the process of achieving Millennium Development Goal...and is established for financing NGOs and other voluntary organizations...working in the country for providing basic social services such as education, nutrition and health, sanitation support, safe drinking water, environmental protection and any other services needed by the poor, the ultra poor, women and children and the ethnic minorities."

The Bhutan Foundation is an international non-profit foundation that works with the Bhutanese government to coordinate NGO and non-profit/charity partnerships within Bhutan. This page includes links to domestic Bhutanese NGO/non-profit groups that are marked as having a partnership with the Bhutan Foundation

"South Asia Alliance for Poverty Eradication (SAAPE) is a regional platform of civil society organizations, social movements, and people’s networks fighting unitedly against the structural causes of poverty and social injustices in the region and beyond."

Premier regional international organization within South Asia. "The objectives of the Association...are: to promote the welfare of the peoples of South Asia and to improve their quality of life; to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to provide all individuals the opportunity to live in dignity and to realize their full potentials; to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia; to contribute to mutual trust, understanding and appreciation of one another's problems; to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields; to strengthen cooperation with other developing countries; to strengthen cooperation among themselves in international forums on matters of common interests; and to cooperate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes."

The World Bank is an international organization working in regions of the world to eliminate poverty and promote economic prosperity in developing economies. This also includes work with gender equity, environmental sustainability, and other sectors. This page specifically focuses on World Bank's work in South Asia.

Comprehensive database of many NGOs and non-profits operating within India. Database is organized by state, links are at the bottom of the page.

"This unique free service allows you to search the websites of all intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc."

Custom search for the websites of over 1000 nongovernmental organizations