Resources For Studying Slavic Languages

Serbian Language Textbooks and Dictionaries

Print and Electronic Books

Alexander, Ronelle. Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, a Grammar with Sociolinguistic Commentary. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2006.

Alexander, Ronelle., and Ellen. Elias-Bursać. Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, a Textbook with Exercises and Basic Grammar. 2nd ed. Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press, 2010.

Hawkesworth, Celia, and Jelena Calic. Colloquial Serbian (eBook And MP3 Pack): The Complete Course for Beginners. London: Routledge, 2005.

Benson, Morton. Standardni Englesko-Srpskohrvatski, Srpskohrvatsko-Engleski Rečnik : Rečnik Bosanskog, Hrvatskog, i Srpskog Standarda = Standard English--SerboCroatian, SerboCroatian--English Dictionary : a Dictionary of Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian Standards. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1998.

Benson, Morton. An English-Serbo-Croatian Dictionary. 3rd ed. Cambridge ;: Cambridge University Press, 1990.

Benson, Morton., and Biljana Šljivić-Šimšić. SerboCroatian-English Dictionary. 3rd ed. Cambridge [England] ;: Cambridge University Press, 1990.

Online Resource

A Handbook of Bosnian, Serbian, and Croatian by Wayles Brown and Theresa Alt. From the Slavic and Eurasian Language Resource Center (SEELRC) at Duke University.

Phrasebooks

Awde, Nicholas and Radosavljević, Duška. Serbian Dictionary & Phrasebook : Serbian-English English-Serbian. Hippocrene Books 2004.

Đukanović, Vlado. Around the World with Serbian : With Pronouncation [Sic] = Sa Srpskim U Svet : Sa Izgovorom. 4. izd ed. Agencija Matić 2010.

Mayhew, Anila. Eastern Europe Phrasebook & Dictionary. 6th ed. Lonely Planet 2019.

Mediterranean Europe Phrasebook & Dictionary. 3rd ed. Lonely Planet 2013.

Phrases

Online Access to Useful Serbian Phrases via Omniglot

Ager, Simon. Omniglot : The Online Encyclopedia of Writing Systems & Languages. Simon Ager.