Resources For Studying Slavic Languages

Croatian Language Textbooks and Dictionaries

Print and Electronic Books

Alexander, Ronelle., and Ellen. Elias-Bursać. Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, a Textbook with Exercises and Basic Grammar. 2nd ed. Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press, 2010.

Alexander, Ronelle. Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, a Grammar : with Sociolinguistic Commentary. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2006.

Benson, Morton. Standardni Englesko-Srpskohrvatski, Srpskohrvatsko-Engleski Rečnik : Rečnik Bosanskog, Hrvatskog, i Srpskog Standarda = Standard English--SerboCroatian, SerboCroatian--English Dictionary : a Dictionary of Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian Standards. Cambridge, UK ;: Cambridge University Press, 1998.

Bogadek, F. A. (Francis Aloysius), F. A. Bogadek, and F. A. (Francis Aloysius) Bogadek. Croatian-English and English-Croatian Dictionary: with an Appendix Comprising a Short Grammar of the English Language, Foreign Words and Phrases, Christian Names and Other Information Including Corrections and Additional Words. Rev. ed. Ottawa: Laurier Books, 2000.

Engelsfeld, Mladen. Croatian through conversation = Hrvatski u razgovoru. 4th enl. ed. Zagreb: Mladost, 1982.

Gorup, Radmila J. The Semantic Organization of the Serbo-Croatian Verb. Bern: Peter Lang International Academic Publishers, 1987.

Hodge, C. T., and Jankovic, Janko. Serbo-Croatian; basic course [by] Carleton T. Hodge [and] Janko Jankovic with the assistance of Eleonora Ivanovich. Washington: [Govt. Print, Off.], 1965.

Ridjanović, Midhat. A synchronic study of verbal aspect in English and Serbo-Croatian. Cambridge, Mass: Slavica Publishers, 1976.

Online Resource

A Handbook of Bosnian, Serbian, and Croatian by Wayles Brown and Theresa Alt. From the Slavic and Eurasian Language Resource Center (SEELRC) at Duke University.

https://worldcat.org/en/title/44586270Phrasebooks

Hawkesworth, Celia and Janekovic, Dubravka. Harrap's Croatian Phrasebook. McGraw-Hill : Chambers Harrap Pub 2006.

Ivetac, Gordana and Ivetac, Ivan. Croatian Phrasebook & Dictionary. Fourth ed. Lonely Planet 2019.

Mayhew, Anila. Eastern Europe Phrasebook & Dictionary. 6th ed. Lonely Planet 2019. 

Mediterranean Europe Phrasebook & Dictionary. 3rd ed. Lonely Planet 2013

Phrases

Online Access to Useful Croatian Phrases via Omniglot

Ager, Simon. Omniglot : The Online Encyclopedia of Writing Systems & Languages. Simon Ager.