Research Guides: Finding Newspaper Resources: Oregon Newspapers

Accessing Oregon Newspapers

Microfilm copies of most Oregon newspapers are located in the Knight Library Microforms Department. Newspapers on microfilm are shelved by city and then by the title of the publication. Most are listed by title in the LibrarySearch.

Portland

A list of current websites for newspapers in this city, which may also include web-only content not found in print editions.

Links to a newspaper's website may provide limited access or require a personal password (UO Libraries does not provide passwords)

Oregonian (via UO database) Access off-campus restricted to current UO faculty, students, and staff.

Paper: 2017 – Current Content available two ways: Text Only and Image

Oregonian, Paper: 1987 – 2017 Content available: Text Only (no images available)
Oregonian, Web Edition Articles 2012 - Current Content available: Text Only

A list of websites that offer archival access to newspapers from this city.

Oregon Digital Newspaper Project - Portland
A list of different Portland newspaper titles available online through the Historic Oregon Newspapers website.
The Oregonian (1987-Present)
The Oregon Daily Journal (1902-1963)

Portland Newspaper Index. 1851-1979. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1851-1979. Produced from card index prepared by the Multnomah County Library. Indexes articles from:

Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest.

Portland Newspaper Index, 1980-1984. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1980-1984. Continuation of Portland Newspaper Index. Indexes articles from:

Oregonian
Oregon Journal
Willamette Week
Business Journal

Oregon Journal Index, 1902-1908, KNIGHT AI 21.O78

Eugene

A list of current websites for newspapers in this city, which may also include web-only content not found in print editions.

Register-Guard This link opens in a new window
Search more than 15 years of Eugene and Oregon history with the Register-Guard Collection. Coverage from 2001 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full color image edition.

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Register Guard - text of paper: 2001 - present
Register Guard - image of paper: 2019 - present

A list of websites that offer archival access to newspapers from this city.

Oregon Digital Newspaper Project - Eugene
A list of different Eugene newspaper titles available online through the Historic Oregon Newspapers website.
The Register-Guard (1867-2008)
Missing some issues and years.
The Eugene Guard (1891-1963)
Morning Register (1895-1929)
Eugene Register (1929-1930)
Eugene Weekly (2013-Present)
Oregon Daily Emerald (2005-Present)

Oregon Emerald 1909 -1920

Oregon Daily Emerald 1920 - May 12, 1952

Eugene Newspaper Index. 20 fiches. MICROFICHE AI 21 .E96. Compiled by George Ann Clingan and Patty Rhay at the Lane Community College Library. The first part, pages 1-22, is the list of newspapers indexed, the list of abbreviations, and the subject authority. The second part, pages 23-391, is the Biography section. The third part, pages 548-1051, is the General News section. Covers 1855-1870. Papers indexed:

Democratic Herald
Democratic Register
Eugene City News
Eugene City Review
Eugene City Guard
Pacific Journal
People's Press.

Oregon Daily Emerald (1920-2012) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the Oregon Daily Emerald, student newspaper at the University of Oregon.

Salem

A list of current websites for newspapers in this city, which may also include web-only content not found in print editions.

A list of websites that offer archival access to newspapers from this city.

Oregon Digital Newspaper Project - Salem
This page lists the different Salem newspaper titles available online through the Historic Oregon Newspapers website.
The Capital Journal (1888-1980)
Statesman Journal (1869-1963)
Weekly Oregon Statesman (1851-1905)

Salem Daily Record Index (1867-1868)
An index of the short-lived Salem Daily Record, available through the Willamette Heritage Center.

Other Oregon Cities

Oregon Newspapers
A list of current websites for Oregon newspapers.

Oregon Digital Newspaper Project - by city
This page lists the different newspaper titles by city available online through the Historic Oregon Newspapers website.

Newspapers.com: University of Oregon (1851-1980) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of historic newspapers published in Oregon. Access on campus and off-campus to current UO faculty students and staff.

Oregon newspapers from NewsBank
86 different titles from Oregon with varied coverage.

East Oregonian Index [Pendelton], 1976-1983, KNIGHT AI 21 .E753a

Oregon State Library - Oregon Index
A selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. Oregon Index coverage varies from paper to paper. Newspapers indexed include: