Research Guides: Finding Newspaper Resources: International Newspapers

Accessing International Newspapers

If you're interested in browsing a particular newspaper or finding a specific article, this page will help you find various ways to access international newspapers.

Microfilm copies of a select few international newspapers are located in the Knight Library Microforms Department. Newspapers on microfilm are shelved by city and then by the title of the publication. Most are listed by title in LibrarySearch.

Major International Newspapers

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Excel list of sources covered by Nexis Uni available here: https://p.widencdn.net/okffmp/Nexis_Uni_--_Content_Listing_--_July_2020
Current Digest of the Russian Press, The This link opens in a new window
News digest presents a weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.

The Times (London)
The online home of The Times offers current access to the paper, but requires a paid subscription.
Le Monde (Paris)
allAfrica
1996-current. Provides content from more than 130 African media organizations.

Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.
Seventeenth and eighteenth century Burney newspapers collection This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
The Burney Newspapers are predominantly London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries. The titles range in date from 1603 to the early 1800s.
African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to almost 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa. Content features English- and foreign-language titles from countries including Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
African Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 40 newspapers published in Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content features English- and foreign-language titles from countries including Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, and Uganda.
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers.Includes newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.
Latin American Newspapers. Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Additional coverage of newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba and Mexico. Includes countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers I, such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
South Asian Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and covering the first half of the twentieth century.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content. CRL members and subscribing institutions also receive access to five in-copyright titles from the region: Jumhuriyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filastin (فلسطين, Palestine), Al Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), Al Riadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and Ad Dustour (الدستور, Jordan)

Times of London
Via NexisUni - Provides indexing and full-text access to articles from 1985 to the present.

The Library also has traditional microfilm copies of select international newspapers. You can check the Library catalog by title or ask for assistance at the Research Desk on the first floor of Knight Library. Newspapers on microfilm are shelved by city and then by the title of the publication. Listed below is a selection of some of the library's holdings of international newspapers:

Le Monde (Paris), 1928-1972
Nezavisimaia Gazeta (Moscow), 1991-recent
Times (London) 1785-recent

The Times (London) - A print index covering 1790 to 2013 is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T39 to REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T46).

Indexes & Guides to Western European Periodicals, 17th-20th Centuries
A guide to comprehensive and language specific indexes, guides and web pages on Western European newspapers and magazines from the 17th through the 20th centuries.

Collections

Global Press Archive

The Global Press Archive (GPA) is an initiative to digitize over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th century to present times.

Need Help?

Journalism and Communication Librarian

Talia Paz

Email Me

Subjects: Journalism & Communication, News