Research Guides: MKTG 435: Consumer Behavior: Consumer Behavior Resources

U.S. Consumer Behavior

Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new window
Simmons Catalyst replaces the Insight interface. Catalyst allows researchers to examine the same consumer demographics, psychographics, shopping behaviors, brand usage, and media consumption using Simmons datasets to test their scenarios. Includes access to NHCS Adult, Sports Fans, Digital Life, LGBTQ+, and SimmonsLOCAL datasets.
To access this resource, you must have the UO VPN Client software running. Download UOnet VPN here.

Mintel academic This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research reports for the U.S. and U.K. focusing on consumer attitudes, demographics, trend information, and market data in 14 consumer product and service categories, including Beauty, eCommerce, Technology, Health & Wellness, and Social Media.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 170 multidisciplinary categories, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, sports, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 115 internationally standardized statistics on industry sectors, country markets, and companies as well as full text market, company, & country reports; as well as expert analysis of emerging industry, country, and consumer trends.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 170 multidisciplinary categories, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, sports, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers.
American Time Use Survey (ATUS)
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
General Social Survey (GSS)
more...less...
You can search and extract data using their Data Explorer (in beta), download data extracts; or access and analyze the data through SDA (see below.)
Surveys of Consumers
Current and historical data from the Reuters/University of Michigan Surveys of Consumers.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines.

WARC This link opens in a new window
Features award-winning advertising case studies and best practices concerning product placement, campaign development, and consumer interest.
Ad Age datacenter This link opens in a new window
Provides profiles of top advertisers, media, agencies and more.