Research Guides: MGMT 614: Strategic Management: Industry Research

Finding Industry Codes (SIC & NAICS)

Search by industry classification codes to generate lists of companies in that industry.

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)
Search for NAICS and SIC codes. The codes may be used to search for economic data on industries.
NAICS - U.S. Census
Official U.S. Government website provides the latest information on NAICS revisions, as well as NAICS reference files and tools.

Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of established and emerging industries in the US, China, and global economies. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry financial data, key success factors, and forecasting. Subscription includes US, China and Global Industry, US Company Benchmarking, Business Environment Profiles, US Specialized Industry, iExpert, and US Industry Spotlight modules.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering more than 1000 industry segments; Industry profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecasts.
Market Share Reporter This link opens in a new window
Compilation of market share statistics from periodical literature covers both consumer and industrial products. Includes both company market share and brand level market share. The focus is on US coverage, but selected international coverage is included starting in 2005.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides 14 key business ratios for private and public companies for competitive benchmarking in over 800 lines of businesses. Contains Solvency, Efficiency, and Profitability ratios from 2009-2012.

U.S. Census Business & Industry Data
Business data from the Census Bureau and other federal offices including the Economic Census, National Economic Indicators, County Business Patterns, and Nonemployer Statistics.

Selected Websites

Industries

Industry analysis and competition: Porter’s five forces

From Bureau of Labor Statistics

Statistics for Specific Industries

From Small Business Administration

U.S. Census Sampler Statistics for Industries

Presents different types of Census Bureau data for an industry.

Doing Business

Doing Business

Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies. Each economy is ranked according to 10 sets of indicators. These are combined into an overall "ease of doing business" ranking.

globalEDGE

globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

UNdata: A World of Information

Useful features include Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries. This site contains over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

World Bank Data

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.