Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

How to Write a Literature Review

A self-guided tutorial that walks you through the process of conducting a Literature Review.

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Get research articles at no cost to you!

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

A screen shot of a search in Academic Search Premier for "Pacific Northwest" AND conserv* AND (fish OR salmon) with an arrow pointing to the full text options in pdf or html

 

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.

No PDF link?

If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button FindText button to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.

Screenshot of the Get It link when full text is available in a database or LibrarySearch

Still no full text pdf? Ask us to Scan & Deliver it to you!

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).

Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Screenshot of Check Availability link in database with option for Scan & Deliver.

Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.

Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.


Questions?

Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Text description of "Use Interlibrary Loan

Before submitting an InterLibrary Loan request, an account must be made. You can create an account by Logging into Illiad..

Once an account is made, books may be searched for and requested through LibrarySearch and WorldCat.

Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery of books and physical materials. An e-mail will be sent when print materials are ready for pick-up.

Most journal articles arrive in 24-48 hours and will be sent electronically.

More Help

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift