Research Guides: US Latinx History Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Library Databases vs. Search Engines (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from WHMS Library to understand the difference between library databases and search engines.

These databases and library catalogs will help you to access a wide range of scholarly research on Latinx history.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects focusing on history, but also includes literature, political philosophy, religion, theatre, and music.
HAPI This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes journals in the social sciences and humanities, focussing on Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Language and subject dictionaries and reference works
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc.

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-8923

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Asian Studies, Historic Preservation, History, Medieval Studies, Political Science, Southeast Asian Studies

Ethnic Studies
by Miriam Rigby Last Updated Mar 6, 2025 185 views this year
History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 235 views this year
Latin American History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 230 views this year
Latin American Studies
by Joel Liesenberg Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 209 views this year