Research Guides: US Latinx History Research Guide: Primary Sources

Digital Primary Sources for Latina/o History

These databases and websites provide access to a wide range of primary source documentation about Latinx history.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 200 alternative and radical publications. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. 1969 to present.
Arte Público Hispanic historical collection. Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic and Latino history, literature, political commentary, and culture. This collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics, shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.

Colección de Puertorriqueña A broad and diverse collection of digitized resources from Puerto Rican archives, sponsored by the University of Puerto Rico. Website and resources in Spanish.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.

FARMWORKER JUSTICE MOVEMENTS
Website produced by Oregon State University students profiling the tactics and strategies of several U.S. farmworker social movements.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.

National Farm Worker Ministry : Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
Publication Date: 2014
This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, and minutes. Included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike. Date range of documents: 1965-1980.

New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.

These databases and webpages will help you to locate archival collections of primary source documents on Latinx history.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Database of archival collection descriptions, including historical documents, personal papers, and family histories around the world

Collections of the United Farm Workers of America. Series 2, Papers of the United Farm Workers of America Work Department, 1969-1975 by United Farm Workers of America. Work Department
Call Number: Knight Library Microfilm HD1525 .C657 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the United Farm Workers Work Department.

Jefferson Center for Education and Research records, 1935-2009
The Jefferson Center for Education and Research specialized in facilitating discussion, problem solving and community connections among low-income non-timber forest workers and harvesters, rural communities and contingent laborers in the Pacific Northwest. This collection provides much needed insight into the economic, political, and social issues among among these groups.
John Little papers, 1965-2006
John Little served in a variety of leadership roles to help establish and operate the Colegio Cesar Chavez at Mt. Angel, Oregon, as well as the Valley Migrant League, a migrant labor organization. His collection of manuscripts, correspondence (legal and general), publications, financial records and other documents provide an in-depth perspective of both organizations.

PCUN Records, 1962-2012
The PCUN records consists of correspondence, newsletters, publications, photographs, newspaper clippings, audio recordings, and other documents that provide a view of the history of the Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (PCUN), the largest labor union and Latino organization in the State of Oregon. They are held in the University of Oregon Libraries' Special Collections and University Archives.

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-8923

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Asian Studies, Historic Preservation, History, Medieval Studies, Political Science, Southeast Asian Studies

Ethnic Studies
by Miriam Rigby Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 537 views this year
History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 851 views this year
Latin American History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 614 views this year
Latin American Studies
by Joel Liesenberg Last Updated Oct 15, 2024 664 views this year