Research Guides: Jazz Performance: Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Bibliographies and Guides to the Jazz Repertoire

The following resources provide bibliographies of primary and secondary sources related to jazz scholarship, as well as listings of specialized repertoire organized by time period, instrumentation, or topic.

Jazz Books in the 1990s by Janice Leslie Hochstat Greenberg
Call Number: ML128.J3 H63 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Jazz Performers by Gary Carner
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.B3 C37 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Fire Music: a bibliography of the new jazz, 1959-1990 by John Gray
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.J3 G7 1991
Publication Date: 1991
The Jazz Standards by Ted Gioia
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.J3 G56 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy (3rd ed.) by Eddie S. Meadows
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.J3 M34 2005
Publication Date: 2005
International Jazz Bibliography: Jazz Books from 1919 to 1968 by Carl Gregor, Duke of Mecklenburg
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.J3C4
Publication Date: 1969

Browse the books with ML134 call numbers in the Music Reference Collection to find research guides about specific composers. Below are two examples, but there are many more on the shelves!

The Irving Berlin Songography; 1907-1966 by Dave Jay
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B49J4
Publication Date: 1969
George Gershwin: A Bio-Bibliography by Norbert Carnovale
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.G29 C37 2000
Publication Date: 2000

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music