Research Guides: Jazz Performance: Articles

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL

Journals & Databases for Finding Jazz Articles

The UO Libraries Music Collection subscribes to the following print and online journals related to jazz performance and research:

Down Beat
Call Number: ML1 .D6
Publication Date: 1934-present
UO has v.21 (1954)-v.73 (2006) and v.75 (2008)-present
Journal of Jazz Studies (online)
Publication Date: 2011-
Critical Studies in Improvisation (online)
Publication Date: 2004-
Current Research in Jazz (online)
Publication Date: 2009-
Jazz Journal
Call Number: ML5.J316
Publication Date: 1975-present
UO has v.28(1975)-present. Previously titled Jazz Journal International.
Jazz Education Journal by International Association for Jazz Education
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: 2001-
UO has v.34 (2001)-v.40 (2007); previous volumes issued as Jazz Educators Journal
Jazz Educators Journal: Official Magazine of the National Association of Jazz Educators
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: 1980-2001
UO has v.13 (1980)-v.34(2001); as of v. 34, the title changed to Jazz Education Journal.
International Jazz Archives Journal
Call Number: ML3505.8 .I5

To find articles related to jazz in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music