Skip to main content
- Apollo Image Atlas - Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.
- CalPhotos - Over 160,000 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. Search by geographic location, common or scientific name, or browse by type of photo, including mammals, human culture, trees, and more.
- Curtis's Botanical Magazine - A project of the National Agricultural Library. Contains over 1,000 original plates of botanical illustrations from William Curtis' The Botanical Magazine, 1787-1807. Browse botanical illustrations by flower or plant name.
- Earth Science World - American Geological Institute's collection of archaeological, geological, environmental, geophysical, and other images. Also includes plants, animals, and weather and satellite images.
- Forestry Images - Health, natural resources, and silviculture Images including forest pests, trees and stand types, silvicultural practices, invasive organisms, forest plants, wildlife, and other scenes. Joint project of the Bugwood Network and the USDA Forest Service, and the University of Georgia.
- Freshwater and Marine Image Bank - Images related to freshwater and marine topics, including images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. From the University of Washington Library's Digital Collections.
- Hubble Gallery - Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.
- Mount St. Helens Post-Eruption Chemistry Database - Slides taken by Professor William Zoller, Professor of Chemistry, University of Washington, over a period of three years during research trips with his team to study the chemistry and impacts of the 1980 eruption of Mount Saint Helens. The collection illustrates some of the methods used to study the chemistry of volcanoes and the impacts of such a powerful eruption. UW Libraries Digital Collections.
- NASA Image eXchange (NIX) - NASA's images of aeronautics, aircraft, projects, the solar system and beyond, space flights, and more. Search or browse by category.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Nature & Science - Images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Includes manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.
- NOAA Photo Library - Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
- Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration - Images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented in manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.
- Plants of Western Washington - Plants commonly found in Western Washington. Most provide "aspect" level identification in attempt to identify the plant species. Considerable ecological information is also provided. Search for species within a plant family, species with the same wetland indicator value, species found in particular locations, or species not native to the state. UW Libraries Digital Collections.
- Primate Info Net: Primate Images - Natural history images of nonhuman primates from the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Digital Library - Collection of over 6,000 nature and wildlife photos provided by the U.s. Fish & Wildlife Service. Includes birds, plants, habitats, environmental sciences, wildlife refuges, and more.
- USDA Beltsville Electron Microscopy Unit - Images from the Electron and Confocal Microscope Unit; using the scanning and transmission electron microscopes, the collection contains images of the surface of biological and physical materials unaltered by preparative procedures.