Research Guides: HIST 383: Soccer in Latin America (Aguirre): News & Online Resources

Soccer Organizations

FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association or International Association Football Federation)
FIFA was founded in 1904 and is the the international governing body of association football, beach football and futsal.
CONCACAF
The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf). Concacaf is one of FIFA’s six continental confederations, servicing 41 Member Associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana in the south.
CONMEBOL
CONMEBOL is the South American Football Confederation (Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol or Confederação Sul-Americana de Futebol) and is one of FIFA's six continental confederations. It is governing body of football in South America (excluding Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana).

Soccer News in English

International

Argentina

Buenos Aires Times: Football

Brazil

Sambafoot News

Peru

Andean Air Mail & Peruvian Times
Andean Air Mail & PERUVIAN TIMES, for nearly 100 years Peru's newspaper source for English-language local news and analysis.

News Databases at UO Libraries with International Coverage

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.

International business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1979 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices, as well as current data and market indexes.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
New York times This link opens in a new window
UO’s New York Times online subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day. NYT Archive page offers alternatives). Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription

Prominent Soccer Newspapers and Magazines by Location

International

MARCA (Spanish soccer magazine with international coverage)
Choose from the following Editions: Spain, English (int'l), Mexico, Columbia, English (US), Argentina.
AS (América)
Use the Edición menu to choose between Spain, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, USA, Mexico, Peru, USA Latino, or América editions.

Argentina

Brazil

Chile

Presna Fútbol
Noticias del fútbol chileno e internacional
Red Gol
Últimas Noticias del Deporte de Chile y del Mundo

Mexico

Récord
"RÉCORD es la página deportiva más influyente de México, encontrarás: Futbol, Liga MX, Estadísticas, Selección Mexicana, Deportes, Tendencias y más."
Medio Tiempo
Lo último en el deporte: Liga Mx, NFL, F1, Champions League, Juegos Olímpicos y más. Noticias de última hora en Mediotiempo.

HIST 383: Soccer in Latin America (Aguirre)

Need Help?

Soccer Organizations

Soccer News in English

International

Argentina

Brazil

Peru

News Databases at UO Libraries with International Coverage

Prominent Soccer Newspapers and Magazines by Location

International

Argentina

Brazil

Chile

Mexico

Peru

Uruguay