Like the roots of a tree, background information is not always visible but it does play an important role in your research.
Starting research often means finding an overview of a topic, checking facts and data, checking dates of significant events, or looking up definitions of specialized terms. Reference books can give background information, including the scope of the topic area, noteworthy people, and statistics to help jumpstart your research.
If you use Wikipedia as a staring place, be sure to check out the "dos" and "do nots" listed further down on this page.
Use these to find historical information about Latin America in general.
Search and browse this bibliography to find citations to key books and articles on topics related to Latin America and soccer.
Tip: Using the Oxford Bibliographies on Latin America, look for the articles Football (Soccer) in Latin America and Sports in Latin America and the Caribbean. If you are off campus, it may help to connect to the campus network using the vpn.
Please note that if you are using Wikipedia, the various language sites may have articles on the same subject but the content of the articles may vary depending on how the page was created. Some articles are direct translations of articles from other Wikipedia language sites and some were created organically. I recommend reviewing the same article or topics in multiple languages.
Below are reference books and general histories for HIST 338. This is not a comprehensive list, but a sample of some of what UO Libraries has to offer. Contact a Subject Specialist librarian for more.
Routledge Handbook of Football Studies by
Football is unquestionably the world's most popular and influential sport. There is no corner of the globe in which the game is not played or followed. More countries are affiliated to FIFA, football's governing body, than to the United Nations. The sport has therefore become an important component of our social, cultural, political and economic life. The Routledge Handbook of Football Studies is a landmark work of reference, going further than any other book in considering the historical and contemporary significance of football around the world. Written by a team of leading sport scholars, the book covers a broad range of disciplines from history, sociology, politics and business, to philosophy, law and media studies. The central section of the book examines key themes and issues in football studies, such as the World Cup and international competition, governance and ownership, fandom and celebrity. The concluding section offers in-depth surveys of the culture and organisation of football in each of the regional confederations, from UEFA to CONCACAF. This book will be fascinating reading for any serious football fan and an essential resource for advanced students or scholars undertaking research in football or sport studies, and any practitioner or policy-maker working in football.
The Cambridge Companion to Football by
Football is the world's most popular sport. It is a cultural phenomenon and a global media spectacle. For its billions of fans, it serves as a common language. But where does its enduring popularity come from? Featuring essays from prominent experts in the field, scholars and journalists, this Companion covers ground seldom attempted in a single volume about football. It examines the game's oft-disputed roots and traces its development through Europe, South America and Africa, analysing whether resistance to the game is finally beginning to erode in China, India and the United States. It dissects the cult of the manager and how David Beckham redefined sporting celebrity. It investigates the game's followers, reporters and writers, as well as its most zealous money makers and powerful administrators. A valuable resource for students, scholars and general readers, The Cambridge Companion to Football is a true and faithful companion for anyone fascinated by the people's game.
An Annotated Bibliography of Latin American Sport by
A unique contribution to the study of sport, this bibliography contains more than 1300 citations of books, articles, documents, unpublished theses, and other sources relating to the practice and study of sport in Latin America from before the European conquest to the present. The majority of the citations include annotations designed to convey information about the contents, special features, and interpretive or ideological thrust of the publication listed. Selected studies of sport and recreation in the Iberian peninsula and within the Hispanic communities of North America are also included, along with 40 unannotated general and theoretical studies which provide useful background information for those just beginning their study of sport. Materials cited are written principally in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, with some selections in French, Italian, and German. Following an introductory section on the theory and history of sport, the bibliography is divided into six principal parts covering indigenous traditions, the Iberian background of Latin American sport, the colonial era, the national period, Hispanic sports in the United States, and current Latin American sports periodicals. The section on the national period is further subdivided by country. In each section, the general criteria for inclusion was that the work in question offer some analytical perspective or contain material which would help to develop such a perspective. In cases where historical or analytical studies were unavailable technical manuals or rule books were included to demonstrate the practice of certain sports and games in certain periods. Subject and author indexes facilitate access to the main listings. As the most comprehensive list of sources available on the subject of Latin American sport, this volume will be indispensable to researchers and students in the field.
Sporting Cultures: Hispanic Perspectives on Sport, Text and the Body by
The essays that comprise this book mark new territory in the study of sport in the Hispanic world, a key site of cultural experience for the populations of Latin America, the United States and the Iberian Peninsula. The scope of the volume is the exploration of the representation and interaction of sport / text / body in a variety of cultural forms in Latin America, Spain and the chicano population of the USA. As such, it opens a path for further study of an area that is experiencing significant growth in the international academic community. The book consists of 11 chapters by different authors, and an introduction, totalling c.85,000 words. The essays deal with the key sporting practices of the Hispanic world, including boxing, baseball, athletics, Olympic movements and football, approaching them as physical manifestations in their own right and as cultural representations (via media images, poetry, narrative fiction, murals) through the research methodologies of the humanities and social sciences. This book was previously published as a special issue of the International Journal of the History of Sport
Sport: A Critical Sociology by
In this lively new book, Richard Giulianotti provides a critical sociological interpretation of modern sport. As global festivals such as the Olympic games and football's World Cup demonstrate, sport's social, political, economic and cultural significance is becoming increasingly apparent across the world. Its popularity alone means that sociologists cannot ignore sport. Chapter-by-chapter, Giulianotti offers a cogent examination of a range of widely taught sociological theories and issues that relate to sport. These include functionalism, Weberian sociology, Marxism, postmodern sociology, and globalisation. The author's use of an international range of case studies and research, about a wide variety of sports, helps to make his account especially accessible to undergraduate readers. 'Sport: a critical sociology' will therefore have strong appeal to upper-level undergraduates on courses such as sport and leisure studies, cultural studies, and modern social theory.
Sport in Latin America and the Caribbean by
Sport in Latin America and the Caribbean is the most comprehensive overview to date of the development of modern sports in Latin America. This new book illustrates how and why sport has become a central part of the political, economic, and social life of the region and the repercussions of its role. This highly readable volume is composed of articles on a wide variety of sports-basketball, baseball, volleyball, cricket, soccer, and equestrian events-in countries and regions throughout Latin America, including Mexico, the Caribbean, Costa Rica, Peru, Brazil, Cuba, Nicaragua, and the Dominican Republic. Broad in scope, this volume explores the definition of modern sport; whether sport is enslaving, liberating, or neutral; if sport reflects or challenges dominant culture; the attributes and drawbacks of professional versus amateur sport; and the difference between sport in capitalist and socialist nations. Other subjects that are addressed as they pertain to modern sport include: diffusion and globalization/internationalization; hegemony, dependency, and nationalism; politics and the state; culture, ethnicity, and race; economic class; gender; commercialization, modernization, and professionalization; health, morality, crime and vice; economics and labor productivity; and the media.
Sports in South America: A History by
The first book to examine the transformation of sporting cultures in South America in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries Sports in South America follows the transformation of sporting cultures in South America leading up to Uruguay's hosting of the first FIFA Men's World Cup in 1930. Matthew Brown shows how South American soccer culture, envied worldwide, sprang out of societies that were already playing and watching games well before British sportsmen arrived to teach "the beautiful game." These vibrant and distinct sporting traditions, including cycling, boxing, cockfighting, bull-fighting, cricket, baseball, horse-racing, were marked by South American societies' indigenous and colonial pasts, and by their leaders' desire to participate in what they saw as a global movement toward human progress. Drawing on a wealth of original archival research, Brown debunks legends, highlights the stories of forgotten sportswomen and indigenous sports, and unpacks the social and cultural connections within South America and with the rest of the world.
Women's Football in Latin America: Social Challenges and Historical Perspectives by
The chapters in the Women's Football in Latin America two volumes will look at the social and historical means of the embodied representation of gender differences that has been deeply embedded in the history of Latin American women and football. The authors identify and analyse how, in a range of ways, Latin American women have found in-between spaces, amid severe macho structures, to establish and play their football. As a result, the book will be of interest to researchers and students of sport sociology, football studies, gender studies, comparative sports studies, sports history, and Latin American sporting culture. The first volume of this edited collection brings together a variety of high-quality research investigating women's football in Brazil to an international, English readership. The complex issues surrounding women and sport have attracted the attention of Brazilian academics since the early 1980s, and this book seeks to update that scholarship to the modern day, with chapters on sports media, 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup, grassroots women's football, women's football fans. The book also indicates the forthcoming research and political challenges for gender equity in Brazilian football.
Fighting Fans: Football Hooliganism As a World Phenomenon by
Soccer hooliganism has long been regarded as primarily an English - or perhaps British - disease, yet in fact it has long existed as a social problem worldwide. In this volume, experts consider hooliganism in 14 countries - eight soccer-playing countries in Europe (including Ireland), two in South America, Australia, South Africa, Japan, and, in the case of North America, a chapter on general sports-related violence. Why have problems of hooliganism from the outset become more regularly attached to soccer than to other global sports? The social roots and forms of soccer hooliganism are explored in the various countries. Do racial, religious or social class cleavages play a part in developing and fostering football violence? What part do the media play? Is hooliganism related to the degree to which soccer is central to the value-system of a country, and the length of time that it has occupied such a position?Though they themselves adhere to a range of different sociological perspectives, the contributors focus on the important theoretical framework devised by Eric Dunning and the Leicester School, in particular the role of aggressive masculinity and the hypothesis that attending matches is part of a "quest for excitement".
Olimpismo: the Olympic Movement in the Making of Latin America and the Caribbean by
The Olympic Games are a phenomenon of unparalleled global proportions. This book examines the rich and complex involvement of Latin America and the Caribbean peoples with the Olympic Movement, serving as an effective medium to explore the making of this region. The nine essays here investigate the influence, struggles, and contributions of Latin American and Caribbean societies to the Olympic Movement. By delving into nationalist political movements, post-revolutionary diplomacy, decolonization struggles, gender and disability discourses, and more, they define how the nations of this region have shaped and been shaped by the Olympic Movement.
The Economics of Competitive Sports by
'True to their title, Rodríguez, Késenne, and Koning assemble a top-notch cast to delve broadly and deeply into The Economics of Competitive Sports. There is something here for everybody, from the organization of competition (tournaments; federations; rival leagues), to its results (competitive balance; career durations; medals), to its challenges (club survival; fan misbehavior). Anyone interested in solid and insightful economic analysis of sports competition should have this one on their shelf.' - Rodney Fort, University of Michigan, US
Entre Nous: Between the World Cup and Me by
In Entre Nous Grant Farred examines the careers of international football stars Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez, along with his own experience playing for an amateur township team in apartheid South Africa, to theorize the relationship between sports and the intertwined experiences of relation, separation, and belonging. Drawing on Jean-Luc Nancy's concept of relation and Heideggerian ontology, Farred outlines how various relationships--the significantly different relationships Messi has with his club team FC Barcelona and the Argentine national team; Farred's shifting modes of relation as he moved between his South African team and his Princeton graduate student team; and Suarez's deep bond with Uruguay's national team coach Oscar Tabarez--demonstrate the ways the politics of relation both exist within and transcend sports. Farred demonstrates that approaching sports philosophically offers particularly insightful means of understanding the nature of being in the world, thereby opening new paths for exploring how the self is constituted in its relation to the other.
Below are just a few selections. See also the Step 3 subpage about Books for soccer-related books by country and contact the librarian for more help.
Maps of Quality of Life in Argentina since the 19th Century by
The book is presented as an Atlas where the map plays a fundamental role in the study of quality of life, as it shows its progression in Argentina from the 19th to the 21st Century. In the book, it can be observed how the concept has evolved along with the dimensions and variables that better represent its spatial distribution. This is one of the original points of the book: the temporal study of the living conditions of the argentine population, empirically and spatially, emphasizing their territorial representation. Although the book maintains the same socioeconomic dimensions (education, health and housing), the tour through the different chapters offers a historical window that allows the reader to know what the forms of information collection were like in different historical moments. This book is written for geographers and members of the scientific community interested in the study of the well-being of the population. It also allows us to observe the evolution of the quality of life from the 19th century to the 21st, so it may be of interest to historians as well.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Brazilian History and Culture by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Brazilian History and Culture brings together specialists from around Latin America, Europe, and the United States in 115 long-form essays ranging from the nation's prehistory until the beginning of the 21st century. The collection features original research on thehistory and legacies of slavery, political history, international relations, economic history, social history, cultural history and more, with special attention paid to the arts and sciences. The encyclopedia is divided into four large chronological sections: the precolonial and long colonialperiods, the short imperial period, and the republican period that continues to the present day. It also seeks to reinvent the historiographical tradition by securing the participation of historians from across generations whose contributions compare themes and models of interpretation thatcorrespond to specific phases of historical research. Written in clear explanatory prose and incorporating the latest research, the encyclopedia's articles offer a marvelous narrative that will be of use to scholars, students, and the general reader.
In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.
Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!
Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
