Research Guides: Business: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a research platform providing access to over 33,000 global news sources, including newspapers, magazines, and journals in 32 languages from over 200 countries. It offers millions of corporate profiles and advanced tools for analyzing media coverage.
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.
Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
This subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international business news, commentary, podcasts, blogs, WSJ+, and more. First-time users create a free account at this link. Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription
Portland business journal This link opens in a new window
Portland Business Journal covers the latest business news from the Portland metropolitan area, covering 18 different industries, plus access to the Weekly Edition, Books of Lists, Local Search Archives, and more.

Log in with your DuckID at the above URL to get access instructions for this resource.

Access is limited to University of Oregon students, faculty and staff.

Are you looking for a specific publication?

eJournals A - Z
Use our A-Z index to see if the journal you need is available electronically.

Identifying and Finding Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles and Books

What are characteristics of scholarly sources?

In general, scholarly sources:

Are written by an author with an advanced degree, i.e., a college professor
Are written for an academic audience
Contain a credible list of citations/references
Include in-text citations
Often contain an abstract, literature review, methodology, results, or discussion

How can I tell if a source is scholarly?

Articles published in scholarly journals which cover academic and scientific research. Scholarly journals are often referred to as "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" journals. Journals can also be scholarly or academic, but not "peer-reviewed."
Books written by academic scholars and published (most often) by academic or university presses, e.g.: Routledge, IGI Global, or Oregon State University Press.

How do I search for and find scholarly sources?

Articles in LibrarySearch

Search in LibrarySearch* or library databases for articles and limit results by "academic sources" or "peer-reviewed sources."

*LibrarySearch includes search results from many of the UO Libraries database subscriptions.

Articles in a Database

Databases often have a "Scholarly" or "Peer Review" filter option too. Here's an example from one of our EBSCO databases:

Books

Search in LibrarySearch by title or keyword. Many of our books are "scholarly," but look for the name of the publisher to find an academic press, e.g., "Princeton University Press" to be more precise. If you still have questions, you can contact a librarian to double-check.