Research Guides: GLBL 467/567 Global Mental Health: Books & Government Publications

Finding books, DVDs, and other physical materials

LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc. Use it when you can't find something through UO or Summit.

Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGOs)

World Health Organization (WHO) Publications
Browse or search for WHO reports, journals, and other key publications. "Health topics" include mental disorders, mental health, some specific mental disorders. Or, by country find the mental health information available for that country.
UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
The UN refugee agency. Use the search function to find information/publications on mental health issues.
UNICEF
UN organization for the welfare of children and adolescents. Use the search function to find projects and publications relating to mental health.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data.
UO-owned books only.

Government (U.S.)

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Although this is mainly a site with U.S. information, the CDC contains general information on diseases and conditions and includes a Global Health section (see upper right, "More CDC Topics".)
CDC - Mental Health
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
U.S.-centric, of course, but a good source for basic information on mental health conditions; also sponsor research on disparities and global mental health.
Fogarty International Center
Part of NIH, the FIC "is dedicated to advancing the mission of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) by supporting and facilitating global health research conducted by U.S. and international investigators, building partnerships between health research institutions in the U.S. and abroad, and training the next generation of scientists to address global health needs."
DEC: USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse
130,000 development documents produced for or by the US Agency for International Development. 25,000 are available full-text; check with Document Center about access to others