Research Guides: GLBL 467/567 Global Mental Health: Reference &amp; Background Information

Reference Sources

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. In addition to DSM-5, DSM-5 Library provides unlimited access to DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.

The following encyclopedias and handbooks can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.

All of the sources listed below are available online.

A Companion to Medical Anthropology
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2011
Written by leading international scholars in medical anthropology , provides an expert view of the major topics and themes to concern the discipline since its founding in the 1960s. Includes some psychiatry, behavioral health, etc.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
ISBN: 0028657748
Publication Date: 2004
Excellent introduction to bioethical issues. Topics covered include: allocation of healthcare resources, health policy in international perspective, fertility control, and much, much more.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012
"Award-winning reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions." Includes articles on cultural/cross-cultural issues. Written by leading international scientists in the disciplines, every article has been peer-reviewed.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006
"...overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology."
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 4th ed.
Publication Date: 2019
"Presents authoritative, comprehensive information on more than 200 mental disorders as well as drugs, treatments and therapies, alternative treatments, diagnostic and evaluation procedures, and related biological concepts totaling 530 articles"--Provided by publisher.
Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012