Research Guides: GLBL 467/567 Global Mental Health: Articles (Scholarly)

Finding articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database. An database will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.

Highly recommended databases:

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
The premier database for psychology research literature. Searches PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsychTESTS simultaneously.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine, including psychiatry and public health.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Other/specialized databases that may be useful:

Anthropology & Sociology

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & other sources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also included in Social Science Premium.

Medicine (includes psychiatry)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) contains protocols and reviews of interventions, diagnostic tests, and methodology.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Journals in medical disciplines with a concentration on nursing and allied health
Medic Latina This link opens in a new window
Collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, covering a wide range of medical topics. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 140 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.

Review Articles

Review articles (or literature reviews) are a great way to get an overview of a research area, with many references to scholarly and research articles. Review articles undergo peer-review and thus qualify as scholarly articles.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences

The Annual Review journals are a good source of review articles. Web of Science (see middle column) is also good: do your search and then limit your results to reviews on the left side.

GLBL 467/567 Global Mental Health

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

Finding articles

Review Articles