It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page was created for Ana Zalyubovskiy's WR 122 course in Spring 2020. Please contact Bronwen Maxson with questions or concerns.
Ecology of Place: Finding your Voice. WR 122 Written Reasoning as a Process of Argument
About Writing 122
Writing 122 will extend existing skills derived from Writing 121 to explore various genres that can be used in argumentative and academic writing. The course theme is “Ecology of Place: Finding your Voice.” WR 122 focuses on specific ways to develop argumentative essays in response to the challenges of complex contexts, which include increasingly sophisticated competing arguments and issues, as well as an expansion of enthymeme-based arguments. Students practice further how to develop effective theses and compose essays in various genres and modalities, in which they control the reasoning that supports their theses. The course emphasizes critical reading of more intellectually demanding essays.
Required Materials provided in Canvas
Reading, Reasoning, and Writing, by James Crosswhite
Ecology of Place, by Ana Zalyubovskiy, a free, curated collection of links
NOTE: Does not reflect the most recent MLA edition (8th). Refer to Purdue OWL for citation information.
Recommended Databases for WR 122 Ecology of Place
Academic Search PremierMulti-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
GeoRefScholarly journal articles and more covering the geosciences: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
Indexes journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
Social Science Premium CollectionProvides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Web of ScienceProvides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.