Research Guides: WR 122: Written Reasoning as a Process of Argument: Find News & Magazines (Popular Sources)

Library Subscriptions to News Sources

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Gale OneFile. News. This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Newspaper database.

New York times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription. UO’s New York Times online subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day. NYT Archive page offers alternatives).
OCLC #34107580

altered display of research guide link in the description, per request. mcg03102023
Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
This subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international business news, commentary, podcasts, blogs, WSJ+, and more. First-time users create a free account at this link. Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription

Oregonian collection with historical archive This link opens in a new window
This database’s coverage of the Portland newspaper varies by time frame:
Newspaper issues are available as:
-1861 - 1987 Images of the issues
-1987 – 2017,Text Only (no images available)
- 2017 – Current, Text Only and Image of the issues
Blog: 2005-2018
Web-Only Source: 2012 - Current, Web edition articles: Text Only
Newspapers.com: University of Oregon (1851-1980) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of historic newspapers published in Oregon. Access on campus and off-campus to current UO faculty students and staff.

Gale OneFile. Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Indexes popular magazines published in the U.S.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Provides congressional news and analysis, bill tracking, member profiles, committee coverage, government documents and transcripts.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Gale OneFile. Informe académico This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.
MAS ultra. School edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from 700 popular periodicals.